When We Leave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When We Leave Reviews

April 15, 2011
"When We Leave" has a predetermined arc that almost chokes its life, but for frustrated witnesses to this passion play, Kekilli offers redemption.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 31, 2011
A powerhouse melodrama that feels didactic and manipulative even as it rips your heart out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 18, 2011
The whole sad enterprise is watchable because of Kekilli.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2011
Unfortunately, Aladag was not as nuanced in her approach as her star.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 3, 2011
There are some intense, moving sequences, but too much emotional badgering and a general shortage of finesse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 18, 2011
Aside from its conclusion, "When We Leave'' is credible and well-observed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 28, 2011
There are times when the tension lags badly and the story loses its way as Umay spins between her worlds. Still, it's a worthy start, and Aladag's distinctive voice helps the film survive any dismay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 28, 2011
Kekilli delivers a perfectly tuned performance. Too bad the script is often clunky and melodramatic, as the first-time director, Vienna-born Feo Aladag, tries to manipulate viewers' emotions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 27, 2011
It is frequently gripping and sincere in its intentions, but never quite as revelatory, or as devastating, as it should be.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 27, 2011
Aladag isn't a particularly expressive filmmaker, and she hits a few bum notes toward the end that feel more like movie payoffs than real-life drama, but she tackles this story with surprising nuance and depth.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 27, 2011
Aladag's point, I think, is that no matter how righteous we may feel about this kind of zero-sum cultural collision, for the human beings involved it often results in unbearable tragedy.
January 25, 2011
Kekilli, more than an unofficial spokeswoman for rebellious Euro-Muslim youth, sells a simple and deterministic story through her sheer presence and precise reaction shots.