Where Do We Go Now? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Where Do We Go Now? Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Sophie Monks Kaufman
Little White Lies
June 21, 2012
Baffling nonsense but beautiful and profound. We're conflicted.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ian Freer
Empire Magazine
June 19, 2012
A likeable comedy with heart and brains.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
June 19, 2012
This is energetic, bursting with sincerity, yet also frustrating and disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tom Dawson
Total Film
June 19, 2012
Balancing sectarian tragedy and earthy humour is never easy, and Labaki crams in too many stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Barbara VanDenburgh
Arizona Republic
June 14, 2012
It is, at times, a charming reprieve from the usually dour cinematic explorations of Middle Eastern conflicts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Paul Gallagher
The List
June 14, 2012
[Labaki] further establishes herself as not only a great storyteller, but a director of significant vision, with a powerful command of cinematic style.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
June 7, 2012
Despite Labaki's unique narrative, flair for the visual and clear humanistic intent, her efforts, much like those of her sisters onscreen, feel like they have achieved very little.
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
June 1, 2012
The intentions are admirable but the result disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
June 1, 2012
Labaki never claimed to be NoŽl Coward, but the facile comedy leads to a dilution of the message she strives so strenuously to make.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
May 31, 2012
Filmmaker Nadine Labaki carries it off with style.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 31, 2012
Time passes with a sense that nothing is really happening, until suddenly too much happens all at once.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
May 25, 2012
Where Do We Go Now? is a tragic-comic fable that speaks to how we live now, and have lived for far too long.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
May 24, 2012
Labaki is a forceful director and a stunning screen presence, but "Where Do We Go Now?" suffers from diffuseness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
May 24, 2012
Silliness and sentiment don't trump hate and rage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 24, 2012
There are so many characters in "Where Do We Go Now?" that we never fully invest in them, and when Labaki tries to shift the direction of the movie, we're not sure what she's trying to say about them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 24, 2012
It's a fresh take on Mideast strife to see the endless battles from a feisty feminist point of view, but most of the acting and plotting is subpar.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
May 24, 2012
The meandering script occasionally has an unpolished feel, confusingly taking too long to flesh out parts of the story while making unsettling swings from comedy to tragedy and back.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
John DeFore
Washington Post
May 18, 2012
A satire in which pathos competes with light comedy and neither quite flourishes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Matt Pais
RedEye
May 17, 2012
Aims for amusingly hypothetical but becomes offensively, naively silly.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 17, 2012
The movie is never quite bold enough to point out the contradiction of Muslims and Christians hating one another, even though they both in theory worship the same god.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 2 of 4