The White Ribbon (Das weisse Band) Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 25, 2019
The White Ribbon may present difficult themes and have spiky edges and perhaps could not be described as entertainment but, as a piece of cinema, it is undoubtedly stunning.
June 6, 2019
Haneke both enthralls and repells us, luring us into a world where all feelings are buried deep beneath the quaint and idyllic surface.
August 30, 2018
Haneke's rigorous control of his material is so unerring, and the acting so eerily and chillingly perfect, it works simply as a portrait of this community at this particular time.
August 14, 2018
The themes, though sometimes applied heavy-handedly, have timeless meaning.
January 13, 2018
Suffice it to say that I don't understand the rave reviews that this picture received, and I was not a happy camper when I left the theater.
September 27, 2017
But along with a finely crafted screenplay, the film's truly brilliant touch, and what makes this nightmarish fable all the more effective and original, is its stunning black and white photography.
September 18, 2017
The White Ribbon breathes an unholy life into the generation of children who would grow up to become the obedient soldiers and members of the Nazi party.
May 27, 2015
It magnetizes us through profound degrees of mystery, psychology, dramatic intensity and perceptive dialogue, and then still retains enough power after the closing credits to leave us in thoughtful contemplation of its more cerebral perspectives.
September 24, 2012
After reflecting on the film awhile, I found that I had been drawn into its beauty and its mystery too much not to give it at least a slight recommendation.
September 20, 2012
As for Haneke's handling of the material, his directing is immaculate. Every moment is the product of a penetrating mind and a steady talent.
January 19, 2011
This film is a total drag to watch. It is slow. It is dark. It is depressing, and it seems as though it is never going to end. It is torture to sit through this film. It runs 144 minutes and seems twice that long.
October 21, 2010
The White Ribbon is Michael Haneke's masterpiece. It is not a movie about abstract concepts or a director's power over his characters - well, at least it's not just about those things.
October 7, 2010
Un inquietante cuadro social, filmado en riguroso blanco y negro, y una reflexin sombra y perturbadora sobre el origen del mal, o al menos de cierto tipo de males.
September 10, 2010
The White Ribbon is a striking, in many ways indelible work, and it's tempting to be carried away by Haneke's craft and assurance as a filmmaker.
August 26, 2010
Up close, it's a blur of meticulous details that don't quite make sense; but step back and its towering ambitions become indelibly apparent.
July 17, 2010
A direct and simple human lesson -- that negative reinforcement creates negative consequences.
July 6, 2010
Haneke knows how violence seeps into every recess of our lives, and he evokes it not to titillate, but to engage and challenge
July 5, 2010
Both sexes suffer from what Elias Canetti identified in his book Crowds and Power as 'the sting,' a psychological hurt (bullying, abuse) that must be exorcised in reenactment. [Blu-ray]
July 4, 2010
Haneke makes his way through this complex and knotty subject matter with a staggeringly effortless grace. As an expression of philosophy, it's profound and thought-provoking; as a work of cinema, it is flawless.
July 1, 2010
... while I appreciate... the unnerving atmosphere of punitive power and calculated cruelty under the carefully managed pose of piety, I find his sensibility sour and cynical...
Page 1 of 8