Whitney Reviews

Page 1 of 8
June 4, 2019
(Written by Greg Wetherall) A worthy and respectful exploration of a genuine worldwide superstar.
March 20, 2019
A loving tribute to the late singer that never truly gets to the heart of who she really was, relying on the almost Rashomon-like memories of those closest to her.
March 5, 2019
This is the definitive doc about Whitney that you need to see.
March 2, 2019
Not exactly a fun watch ... but it does an excellent job showing us many facets of Houston, and it's worth knowing who she was beyond the broad strokes.
February 26, 2019
While perhaps overstepping its bounds, director Kevin Macdonald does a good job showing all sides to the singer and her impact on music and pop culture.
February 11, 2019
Macdonald's all-access dive into the singer's life is deft, emotional, and unsensationalist.
January 29, 2019
Whitney is a reminder that everyone is fighting their own battles, and we will never know what someone else is going though. All we can do is be kind to each other.
December 22, 2018
In the end, the only truth that remains unquestioned is the power in Whitney's voice, a gift so clear and awe-inspiring that it felt like touching the divine.
October 27, 2018
The singer who hits the heights and the depths is a showbiz stereotype, but there may never have been a performer who soared so high and sank so low.
October 23, 2018
MacDonald's thoughtfulness is arguably its standout element. The finesse with which he crafts his doc makes for, quite simply, an absorbing and moving portrayal of an unforgettable heartrending figure.
October 16, 2018
An emotionally powerful and devastating portrait of a tortured artist, Whitney is an authentic and unflinching depiction of the perils of fame.
September 10, 2018
That beautiful voice is still ringing in our ears...it feels like the movie focuses on the end a little too much, but some stunning revelations and interesting examinations of politics...great doc for music fans.
September 9, 2018
(Director Kevin) Macdonald...has a detective's mind and a craftsman's eye.
September 7, 2018
In general, the attempt to make a portrait as complete Whitney becomes kaleidoscopic, without getting to delve too much in each phase, although sketching the character and providing clues about the explanations sought. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 5, 2018
Fame may not have killed Whitney Houston, but it didn't save her either.
August 27, 2018
As one interviewee says early in the film, "When you don't deal with secrets, they never go away."
August 26, 2018
But not unlike the documentary Amy, we confront a young, innocent, bubbly, and energetic woman. And as we progress, we see and hear the degradation of not only Houston, but also her voice.
August 22, 2018
Here is a bells and whistles pop morality tale, but here, too, is a quietly moving, thoughtfully told story of a woman who had everything except the ability to be at peace with herself.
August 21, 2018
Whitney mightn't tell viewers much that's new; however it assembles its various pieces with a force on par with Houston's roaring voice
August 20, 2018
Whitney excels at celebrating the legacy and honoring Houston. We walk away with a deeper love and understanding of Whitney the person than ever before.
Page 1 of 8