Whitney: Can I Be Me Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 18, 2017
It crafts a heartbreaking narrative through found footage, including never-before-seen interviews, performances and clips that address everything from her intimate relationship with best friend Robyn Crawford to her tumultuous marriage to Bobby Brown.
August 18, 2017
Whitney itself operates on two levels -- delivering another cautionary tale about the price of fame, but also a tribute to a voice so big and buoyant that it continues to echo long after her death.
August 18, 2017
As is often the case in documentaries like this, absorbing all those details as part of one, tightly edited story gives them an impact they lack when digested in individual pieces over time.
August 17, 2017
A surprisingly conventional, dutifully respectful behind-the-scenes portrait of Whitney Houston's rise and struggles with fame and drugs before her death at 48.
August 17, 2017
"Whitney's" story makes for strong and compelling viewing even though it has something of a cobbled together feel to it.
August 16, 2017
[A] sharp, well-edited film ...
March 2, 2019
An uncharismatic documentary featuring many charismatic people, Whitney is basically watchable but hampered by an inability to push far enough.
November 13, 2018
It's surprising how little Broomfield inserts himself into the narrative...[he] is respectful and Crawford is only present in old footage...
November 3, 2018
By the film's end, truthfully, no greater insight has been extracted as to who this strangely anomalous superstar really was.
August 6, 2018
A sympathetic backstage documentary on the rise and fall of renown African-American singer Whitney Houston.
March 28, 2018
A heartbreaking documentary...Crawford appears in the documentary herself, and hearing her speak about Houston alleviates any concern; it's clear you are watching someone who really did love the celebrated vocalist.
December 19, 2017
Music documentaries often peddle the myth that suffering is the hallmark of a great artist, and redemption always lies on the other side of hardship. Whitney: Can I Be Me, on the other hand, is a simple tragedy.
October 9, 2017
What Asif Kapadia's Amy did for the tragic story of Amy Winehouse, now Nick Broomfield and Rudi Dolezal's Whitney: Can I Be Me does for Whitney Houston.
September 26, 2017
Whitney lets us know: The demand for sanitized, postracial soothsaying from black stars as the price for success is more than detrimental. It will slowly, softly kill you.
September 6, 2017
The film is far from prurient.
September 6, 2017
Whitney Houston's majestic voice sadly takes second place to her baleful decline.
August 25, 2017
While the documentary offers strong concert performances and an array of opinions on her enormous talent and tragic demise from those in her band, her entourage, friends and family, it contains no major revelations.
August 24, 2017
By the end ... you won't feel you know anything new about Houston's life. "Can I Be Me" just raises questions.
August 18, 2017
It's no surprise that Nick Broomfield finds little use for the moments of unabashed triumphalism in Houston's life, as he's doggedly fixated on the humiliating swan dive.
August 17, 2017
Can I Be Me treats its subject with a reverence that's a bit too delicate.
Page 1 of 4