Why Did I Get Married? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why Did I Get Married? Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 1, 2012
Made up largely of Statements and less of character arcs or human psychology.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 28, 2008
Isn't there anything better for the urban-marketed movies than this dreck?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
March 1, 2008
Unfortunately, for all its superficial entertainment value, Perry-ites won't recognize much of Why Did I Get Married? And in this case, a lack of familiarity just may breed contempt.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
October 23, 2007
A simple, feeble-minded film with a high-school-level screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 22, 2007
Tyler Perry's latest comedy has adult themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 19, 2007
There's such an overriding sense of soap opera that I kept expecting a commercial break.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 19, 2007
Why Did I Get Married covers a lot of emotional and cultural ground in its two hours.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 19, 2007
...the characters are less cardboard, the dialogue less awkward than in some of Perry's other movies...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 19, 2007
Perry's film made me laugh frequently and whole-heartedly; more so than any theatrically released American film has in many months.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 18, 2007
Critic-proof, many-hatted Tyler Perry has done it again: delivered an overreaching and overexpositional melodrama that opened at No. 1.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 17, 2007
Incredible star Jill Scott is the one to watch in "Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married?" The show is a star vehicle for Scott and an intelligent, entertaining dramedy.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
October 17, 2007
Amid the shout-downs over adultery, male power, and the agony of coping with a child's death, one performance glistens -- Jill Scott's as the sad, heavyset Sheila, who locates the faith that's the source of love.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 17, 2007
It's alarming that American film critics alienate themselves from the aspects of Perry's films that should be universal.
October 17, 2007
The real question for me about Tyler Perry's Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married? came about 30 minutes into the film: 'Why am I watching this movie?'
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 16, 2007
None of these flaws will matter much to Perry's devoted audiences, whose support has enabled him to virtually build a media empire.
October 16, 2007
Despite the improbable ease of pic's genteel psychoanalysis, the characters are thesped with enough depth and emotional investment to make their problems feel legit.
October 15, 2007
'Can these marriages be saved?' is the recurring theme raised by this alternately enlightening and entertaining Tyler Perry tour de force.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 15, 2007
Perry's films are review-proof and he knows it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2007
[Perry] makes it easy on us, mostly by letting his cast do what it wants.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 15, 2007
Perry, so adept at giving fans of his touring plays an evening that spans the entertainment gamut, once again delivers something for everyone.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3