Why Did I Get Married? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why Did I Get Married? Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 18, 2007
Critic-proof, many-hatted Tyler Perry has done it again: delivered an overreaching and overexpositional melodrama that opened at No. 1.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 23, 2007
A simple, feeble-minded film with a high-school-level screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: D
August 28, 2008
Isn't there anything better for the urban-marketed movies than this dreck?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
March 1, 2008
Unfortunately, for all its superficial entertainment value, Perry-ites won't recognize much of Why Did I Get Married? And in this case, a lack of familiarity just may breed contempt.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
October 12, 2007
Why Did I Get Married? is Tyler Perry's best screen effort to date, which is to say it's comfortably mediocre instead of criminally intolerable.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 1, 2012
Made up largely of Statements and less of character arcs or human psychology.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 15, 2007
Perry's films are review-proof and he knows it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2007
In the end, it's easy to answer the question: why don't we care what happens one way or the other?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 12, 2007
in a strange way, this film can be therapeutic for the average person, the same way The Jerry Springer Show is
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 14, 2007
Tyler Perry is a cultural phenomenon, specifically targeting an affluent, African-American audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 15, 2007
You don't have to be black to enjoy the film, but you do need a strong desire to watch people work out their issues using pop-psychology and self-help techniques.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 19, 2007
There's such an overriding sense of soap opera that I kept expecting a commercial break.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 15, 2007
Here's what filmmaker Tyler Perry does well: featuring characters not traditionally seen in movies. Here's where he could use some help: in toning down some grossly over-the-top dramatics.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 12, 2007
With its retro credit sequence, Why Did I Get Married? proudly flaunts its maker's right to make movies as badly as Bart Freundlich, Peyton Reed, and Woody Allen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 12, 2007
Stiffly written, didactic, and whiplash-inducing in its tonal shifts.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 12, 2007
Is it overboard to consider the Tyler Perry phenomenon a cult?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 17, 2007
The real question for me about Tyler Perry's Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married? came about 30 minutes into the film: 'Why am I watching this movie?'
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 12, 2007
Perry's comedy will likely never be breezy, and the film drags through its second hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 3