Why Didn't They Ask Evans? Reviews

  • Aug 12, 2009

    Lots of twists in this one. Well done but the base story of the two people trying to be detectives gets a little grating.

    Lots of twists in this one. Well done but the base story of the two people trying to be detectives gets a little grating.

  • Mar 24, 2009

    love agatha christie

    love agatha christie

  • Feb 02, 2009

    A faithful, but dry and drawn out adaptation of Agatha Christie's novel. Good for an evening of pop-tarts, hot chocolate, and mystery, not necessarily much cinema to admire.

    A faithful, but dry and drawn out adaptation of Agatha Christie's novel. Good for an evening of pop-tarts, hot chocolate, and mystery, not necessarily much cinema to admire.

  • Jan 03, 2009

    Although the movie has merit for fans of Francesca Annis or Connie Booth, it has not stood the test of time... E.G... lines like "I say! You were so frightfully plucky!"

    Although the movie has merit for fans of Francesca Annis or Connie Booth, it has not stood the test of time... E.G... lines like "I say! You were so frightfully plucky!"

  • Sep 05, 2008

    Incredibly faithful adaptation of Christie's novel... unfortunately, it is also incredibly drawn out... It might actually have benefited by trimming down some of the Christie's text. As for the mystery plot, has some interesting twists and turns, but it is fairly contrived overall (for instance, there is no reason why the dying man would utter those particular words - they are nothing more than a McGuffin to get the plot moving forward). This contrivance is not the filmmaker's fault but the original Christie novel, which stretched plausibility from the beginning. Still, interesting and entertaining. Highly recommended for Christie fans, solid recommendation for mystery fans, but only a mild recommendation for all others...

    Incredibly faithful adaptation of Christie's novel... unfortunately, it is also incredibly drawn out... It might actually have benefited by trimming down some of the Christie's text. As for the mystery plot, has some interesting twists and turns, but it is fairly contrived overall (for instance, there is no reason why the dying man would utter those particular words - they are nothing more than a McGuffin to get the plot moving forward). This contrivance is not the filmmaker's fault but the original Christie novel, which stretched plausibility from the beginning. Still, interesting and entertaining. Highly recommended for Christie fans, solid recommendation for mystery fans, but only a mild recommendation for all others...

  • Jul 09, 2007

    Brew some tea and curl up by the fire for murder, intrigue, and madcap upper-class high jinks in Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans?

    Brew some tea and curl up by the fire for murder, intrigue, and madcap upper-class high jinks in Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans?

  • Nov 26, 2006

    love agatha christie

    love agatha christie

  • Oct 19, 2006

    Can't stand the Tommy and Tuppence series.gah.

    Can't stand the Tommy and Tuppence series.gah.

  • Oct 14, 2006

    I did not really like this movie.

    I did not really like this movie.

  • Sep 13, 2006

    An enjoyable British murder mystery with low production values and good actors. Francesca Annis and James Warwick make a great comedic pair here as well as the Tommy & Tuppence mysteries.

    An enjoyable British murder mystery with low production values and good actors. Francesca Annis and James Warwick make a great comedic pair here as well as the Tommy & Tuppence mysteries.