Wilbur Wants to Kill Himself - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wilbur Wants to Kill Himself Reviews

Page 2 of 10
October 17, 2010
interesting romance with alot of black humour
½ July 6, 2010
it's ok..i found it simmilar to "after the wedding", but just not as good..
½ April 26, 2010
Only seen very small bits of this movie; not worth it
½ April 3, 2010
dark comedy done right. and as exhausting as it would be, i kinda wish i had a suicidal bf. "what excitement awaits me at home, on the kitchen floor?!?", i would say.
March 23, 2010
saw this movie in school it felt like a dark comedy in some ways. it also felt slow movie, i dont know i kinda have mixed feelings about this movie.
March 21, 2010
Catched this on the telly..Totally mediocre despite the appearances of Mikkelsen(playing a doctor again) and Julia Davis(as a nurse)
½ February 12, 2010
A woman changing life of two brothers.... Parts of it very sad, others boring...
January 31, 2010
El inicio suena prometedor, con la historia de los dos hermanos con tendencias mentales un poco extrañas, y la entrada en sus vidas de una chica con una hija que les aporta un poco de aire fresco. Después de la primera hora, toda la exposicion de personajes, incluyendo secundarios que podrian haber aportado mucho mas jugo en la historia, desaparece para centrarse solamente en el trio protagonista, con una caida en el amor libre que, para mi, destroza un poco el planteamiento de la misma. Pero se ve con interes este primer esfuerzo ingles de la directora de "italiano para principiantes"
½ December 11, 2009
Pretty good film although you sort of expected a strong message to appear and it didn't really. Well acted though and Julia Davis, although she always seems to play similar roles, was pretty funny.
November 23, 2009
First of all, I was expecting this to be in Danish, so the Scottish accents were a little jarring. Luckily it's a good film so it didn't matter anyway. Very sad, and with a successfully strange atmosphere and an amazing performance from Rawlins. The wonderful Shirley Henderson also helps.
½ November 16, 2009
Clever and surprisingly charming performances by the entire cast. It's exciting to see a Dogme film pulled-off with understatement but also such profound warmth.
½ October 22, 2009
the brothers of opposite characters live same life with all it's troubles and miracles. But show different reactions. And trying to fill the gaps in their lives. An emotional and a funny movie that makes me lol several times. But the story is too slow and to far from being fascinating. But wort watching.
½ October 7, 2009
Semmonen muka-hyva leffa. Roolihahmot oli kuitenki sen verran kiinnostavia, etta jakso kattoa loppuun asti.
October 3, 2009
Obscure Scottish drama
September 6, 2009
Second movie of the weekend by Lone Scherfig after "Italiensk for begyndere". The storyline brings a lot of interesting themes and situations. The dialogues are sometimes quite funny but they could also be hard like the reality lived in the movie. I was a little bit dissapointed with the music, hence my -10%. The sountrack tried to emphasize some feelings that were already present with the acting and the story. Besides is just a typical pseudo classical soundtrack with a standard little orchestra making an excessive use of piano and strings... the music is cheesy, kitschy, corny... hatever you want to name it. Anyway, it's a pretty good movie, even if the first half is just a prelude to the later events and the suicidal tendencies of Wilbur start to turn annoying. There goes another -10%
Super Reviewer
August 15, 2009
could u possibly be any more desperate for a spirit award or whatever indie award you get for making a movie called blab bla want to kill myself
July 25, 2009
Wilbur es un profesor de escuela primaria quien intenta una y otra vez acabar con su vida debido a que cree ser el causante de la muerte de su madre. Harbour, su hermano mayor, se empeña en salvarle cada vez, mientras se ocupa de la vieja tienda de libros que les ha dejado su padre en herencia.
En esta tienda aparece habitualmente Alice, una misteriosa mujer que le lleva siempre libros para vender, y que vive a duras penas con su hija de 10 años. Un día, Wilbur decide colgarse en la librería y llega Alice y le salva la vida. Harbour entonces, en agradecimiento, comienza a conocer a la mujer y a conversar con ella, enamorándose de ella. Luego de casarse, Wilbur también se enamora de ella, y ella comienza a sentir una atracción por su cuñado... sin embargo, recibirán una devastadora noticia, que les cambiará su mundo, y a la vez les acercará más en sus sentimientos.
Excelente!
July 20, 2009
A great little film. If you like your humour black then this is for you.
½ July 13, 2009
This could have gone either way after about 20 minutes but I stuck it out and was mildly entertained, ever so slightly moved, etc. It's a pretty middle-of-the-road film, and typically British: no flair, no confidence in its audience to work things out for themselves, etc etc etc. Some quite nice performances and no worse than 9 out of 10 things you might zap past on the TV. Just not all that much better either.
July 11, 2009
One of the most smartest comedies I have ever seen. It's really good movie, it puts a good twist of irony to alot of things. Sadly this movie will never really be noticed by anyone outside of people interested in obscure indie movies.
Page 2 of 10