Willard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Willard Reviews

Page 2 of 7
March 26, 2003
For all its ickiness, Willard is actually that most exotic of movie creatures: a remake that handily bests the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 20, 2003
Crispin Glover is Willard. . .take delight biting into this tasty slice of horror cheese.
| Original Score: 4/5
March 20, 2003
I never expected 'Willard'" to be a page-marker in modern cinema. All I had hoped was that it wouldn't lose its taste for good baloney be-fore I did. We already had the cheese.
| Original Score: 2/4
March 20, 2003
As surely as rats have whiskers, Willard will go down as the definitive Crispin Glover film.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
March 18, 2003
Writer-director Glen Morgan is more in love with his own cleverness than he is with the movie he's making -- and that is never a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 18, 2003
Crispin Glover as the king of the rats? I'm not sure I'd want to see Willard twice, but that's entertainment to me at least once.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 18, 2003
[Y]ou got a real opportunity here to do something really funny -- because Crispin Glover is really fun -- and something scary, but the rats, I guess, aren't up to the task.
March 18, 2003
In a culture clogged with appropriated effluvia and remake cop-outs, Willard is wittier and nastier than we deserve.
March 17, 2003
Campy, cult=y and infested with dark humor.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2003
Any film with Crispin Glover's name above the title is marching to its own beat, and it has little interest in convincing us to dance along; we simply will or we won't.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 17, 2003
As Willard, Glover gives a fantastic, white-hot performance replete with furious shivers, burning eyes, sweat, tears, the works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2003
The problem is that "Willard" never becomes anything more than a ham-fisted revenge-of-the-nerd horror fable.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 17, 2003
the technically 'improved' version just doesn't have the same heart of the original
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 17, 2003
...an utterly unnecessary remake of a movie that was always more fun to talk about than to watch.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2003
This new incarnation of Willard emphasizes one thing: no matter how bad the original was, it didn't need to be remade.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2003
The casting of cult actor Crispin Hellion Glover as Willard Stiles ... is by far the best casting choice in a major American film since Spike Jonze and Charlie Kaufman redesigned John Malkovich.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 16, 2003
Morgan's heavy-handed writing and direction quickly rob all the special-effects horror of any novelty, and the film becomes monotonous and plodding.
March 15, 2003
Crispin Glover is pitch-perfect...but as a horror film, the movie is extremely dated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 15, 2003
You'll feel like saying 'cheese' at each illustration of its darkly comic wit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2003
A rare gem, a character study of considerable subtlety aside from being a helluva fun time.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 2 of 7