Windfall - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Windfall Reviews

March 1, 2012
The poignant, frightening and visually striking documentary "Windfall" places debate within a very human perspective.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
February 3, 2012
A full-throated attack on wind energy, this feature by Laura Israel is one of the most surprising (and depressing) eco docs I've seen in years.
February 2, 2012
[An] urgent, informative and artfully assembled documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 2, 2012
Ms. Israel's movie proves, once again, that the best nonfiction cinema possesses the same attributes as good fiction: Strong characters, conflict, story arc, visual style.
Top Critic
February 2, 2012
A veteran film editor making her first feature, Israel emphasizes the area's low-key beauty.
February 2, 2012
It's a microcosmic version of the political divisions - between left and right, environmentalists and free-marketers, corporations and citizens - that have virtually paralyzed our republic.
February 2, 2012
The unbridled scare tactics cast too big a shadow over the agit-prop doc Israel ended up making.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 2, 2012
"Windfall" left me disheartened. I thought wind energy was something I could believe in.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 31, 2012
It all feels like so much petty sniping against progress.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 31, 2012
Prescriptive eco docs are rarely as attuned to the folly of human ingenuity as this one or as insightful on our knee-jerk demand for impossibly easy solutions.
July 28, 2011
[An] absorbing, sobering documentary about the lures and perils of green technology.
November 4, 2010
Variably articulate subjects drone on and on in an 83-minute film that could easily make its TV news-style point in a half-hour or less.