Winnebago Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winnebago Man Reviews

December 10, 2010
Perhaps the most disturbing issue raised in Ben Steinbauer's fascinating and often hilarious Winnebago Man has to do with the Internet's awesome ability to reduce complex and apparently dangerous behaviour to the level of banal spectacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 29, 2010
When the director laments, "I feel like I've stepped into the Winnebago Man outtakes," we can only concur.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 14, 2010
Although we find out a lot about this virtual hermit and develop an admiration for his cantankerous principles, the movie leaves some questions unanswered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 23, 2010
The movie becomes oddly deep and even poignant.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 20, 2010
Winnebago Man becomes a much more interesting and troubling film when Rebney, a former journalist, demands to reclaim control of his messaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 20, 2010
This strange, darkly funny documentary investigates the story of Jack Rebney, a Winnebago salesman who achieved notoriety based on outtakes of a corporate video he shot in the 1980s.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 5, 2010
Winnebago Man is an intriguing look at the effects on one man's life; whether they're worth the cost is something Steinbauer leaves up to us.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 30, 2010
Raises intriguing questions about our culture of online humiliation and the real-life destruction it can leave in its wake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 26, 2010
What this film is really about is how interconnected we all are, like it or not, on the Internet, and how alluring and alarming this can be.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 22, 2010
There's a pathos lurking around the edges of Winnebago Man, and it has nothing to do with issues of fame or the power of the Web and everything to do with aging and alienation, neither of which the documentary seems able to comprehend.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 16, 2010
That Mr. Rebney is a real character comes as no surprise. What's odd, given Mr. Steinbauer's obvious intelligence, is the director's blinkered view of his subject.
July 16, 2010
Whenever Rebney gets to be Rebney -- be it insulting, sweet or wearily perturbed -- Winnebago Man shows a full tank of irascible charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 14, 2010
There is a genuine, human sympathy for his frustration and lashing out that goes along with the laughter.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
July 14, 2010
Brilliantly encapsulates the transformative power of the online video boom.
July 14, 2010
[Director Ben Steinbauer's] blend of exploitation and sincerity proves remarkably efficient, and helps illustrate how new media have democratized the arts.
July 14, 2010
[A] frustrating, borderline exploitative, madly entertaining documentary.
July 13, 2010
Good fortune smiled on this film, but the feeling persists: This triumph belongs to Rebney, not Steinbauer.
July 12, 2010
I know this film sort of deals on a fine line of humiliation and admiration, but I thought it pulled it off.
July 12, 2010
I think this is a disingenuous and shallow movie about a fairly interesting guy.
July 9, 2010
Adulation -- even barbed adulation -- is irresistible.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 9, 2010
Winnebago Man, which appears to be notably less staged than other documentaries of this ilk, doesn't relentlessly explore all the corners of Rebney's life -- which makes him an even more fascinating subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 8, 2010
One of those thrilling instances where reality grabs a filmmaker by the lapels and drags him (and us) to unexpected places.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 7, 2010
What started as an underground goof ended up becoming a fascinating foul-mouthed curio; though it aims for profundity, Winnebago Man seems destined to suffer the same fate.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 6, 2010
At once scabrously funny and uncomfortably poignant...
July 6, 2010
Was it all an act--or is this? Pay your money and find out.
June 10, 2010
This engrossing documentary widens to consider the phenomenon of viral videos and the humiliation they can bring to their sometimes unsuspecting victims.