X-Men Origins - Wolverine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

X-Men Origins - Wolverine Reviews

Page 3 of 13
May 8, 2009
We're soon mired in a predictable tale of revenge, an escalating series of empty tragedies occurring to half-sketched characters that ultimately packs all the emotional resonance of a night on the Xbox.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 7, 2009
The amount of muscle on display is the film's most remarkable aspect, unless you count how unforgivably dull it is.
May 7, 2009
I had a good time with this. Jackman makes it worthwhile. Not as good as the first two X-Men films, but better than the third. Sorry haters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 7, 2009
...A story line that isn't emotionally involving and action sequences that for the most part aren't that exciting, presented within a story that's full of potholes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 7, 2009
Scary as Hugh Jackman's vascular body may be, it's also perfectly appropriate as a visual extension of the weaponization of Wolverine.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 7, 2009
Hugh Jackman and Liev Schreiber are so well-cast and are so sharp in their roles that extraneous missteps almost feel excusable.
| Original Score: 3/4
May 7, 2009
Despite a 150-year-old backstory that dates to before the Civil War and runs through subsequent conflicts, the title is never fulfilled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 7, 2009
So ... bland.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
May 7, 2009
X-Men Origins is really a series of action sequences, the usual mix of bangs, chases and fights, held together by a plot so predictable that you get no points for guessing right.
May 7, 2009
It's dull, bone-crushing, special-effects stuff, of interest only to hardcore fans who've probably read it all in Marvel comics.
May 6, 2009
It's a B movie with 1000 effects shots, pure and simple.
May 6, 2009
Each CGI set piece erases distance, space, weight, gravity and wit. It's empty, soulless action -- visual noise.
May 6, 2009
It's not a great movie (though it's better than the third entry), and I doubt I'll ever feel compelled to see it again, but I enjoyed it well enough while it was on-screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 6, 2009
What we get is an efficient but thinly plotted comic book violence packed story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 6, 2009
Did the plot points stick in my head five minutes after leaving the theater? Not so much ... but I know I was having fun while watching.
May 5, 2009
Lots of action and Jackman is in great shape but the movie is just more of the same
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
May 4, 2009
The latest edition of the X-Men franchise is easily the least, with a convoluted storyline, poorly defined characters and a dark one-note tone that lacks the humor and light touches of the earlier three installments.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 4, 2009
'Wolverine' isn't as powerful as you might think.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
May 4, 2009
Could the Wolverine story be getting a little tired at this point, even though Hugh Jackman still looks good with mutton chops? Possibly ...
May 4, 2009
Everything that happens seems to play out as if following a checklist. It's Paint by Numbers: The Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 3 of 13