Women in Trouble - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Women in Trouble Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Super Reviewer
½ February 2, 2016
10 women got themselves in a variety of sticky situations. The stories were badly connected and the blue comedy didn't work as well as Gutierrez might have expected. The ensemble was great, featuring a talented cast of good looking people, but at times acting as distraction to the bland storytelling and thin material.
½ August 31, 2014
The often thin material spits out a couple of humorous incidents.

March 24, 2014
A waste of beauty, talent, and time.
January 19, 2013
It was good. But that's where it ended. The flash forwards were a tad strange, loud and unnecessary, but I enjoy it.
December 20, 2012
I accidentally stumbled on this movie and I had the pleasure to find in it Simon Baker and Josh Brolin. That two guys were already great reasons to watch the film, but I've found others: a good job, with funny and rich characters.
December 15, 2012
Women in Trouble has bright colors and several captivating story lines. It's all about sex really, but isn't life about sex? Of course it is.

The ideas presented in this movie are of the open-minded sort, which I adore, to the exception of the recurring fact that anybody in the sex industry should be trying to get out. Beyond that, you get taken in for a nice ride, with events that surprises you at time. It's a bit quirky, funny in passing, and never dull.

The acting is good. However, it could have been better but that might be the fault of the scenario or the director. The rest is pretty much invisible, which makes for fine entertainment. The only negative would be that the whole could have been a little bit tighter, more researched.

If you're looking for a bit of drama, a bit of sex, some laughs, and a jumble of scenes all about women that tie up together, then you should watch it.
½ October 9, 2012
The dialogues are loaded with wit and humor that you can forget about the underwhelming final act. It wasn't meant to break grounds. It really is just a better than the usual 'female club' outing.
Super Reviewer
September 14, 2012
High Hopes, High Anxiety, High Heels.

Good movie! The film makes you laugh much more than expected, but keeps its heart in the midst of all the appropriately titled trouble. It's too real to just become a comedy or a tragedy or a drama, this film is an intoxicating blur of emotions. This movie basically ends up being about womanly camaraderie, and the bond that ties all women in all walks of life together, I think. However, it's also got enough sex talk, women in underwear, zany situations, and even a degree of bathroom humor, that'll keep guys interested. PS. Keep watching after the credits. There's a cute little satirical interview with the "porn stars", conducted by Joseph Gordon-Levitt. It's not quite up to the level of the material in the rest of the movie, but still worth watching.

Several women (and one girl) in L.A. are hiding something from someone else, or discovering something hidden from them. Maxine, a therapist, discovers her husband cheating on her with the mother of Charlotte, a 13-year old patient. Addy (the other woman) and her sister Doris have withheld from the girl the truth of her parentage. Holly, an adult film actor, isn't telling her friend Bambi how she feels about her, and another actor, Elektra, who discovers she's pregnant, hasn't told the baby's father that she loves him. A stuck elevator, a car crash, mid-air turbulence, a flight attendant, a shotgun-wielding bartender, and her roommate, who's a masseuse, help these women communicate.
½ September 10, 2012
Sometimes a bit funny ....nothing special
½ September 3, 2012
Gutierrez doesn't take himself too seriously. And I like that. Contrary to douchy critic belief, this isn't forced or dumbed down. This is as guilty a pleasure as pistachio macaroons.
August 27, 2012
I really enjoyed this film on a light, breezy watch kind of level, as it follows a widely varied ensemble cast through their day, building to different connections between the at first seemingly disparate group of strangers. The only quibble I might have (from a sheerly sexist viewpoint) could be that the porn actresses never really show any skin, but perhaps I'm just being piggish about that. But y'know, realism, dammit!

Worth a rental if you're looking for something light.
August 7, 2012
Desafortunada pelicula, intenta manejar una trama circular que inicia donde termina, pero queda en la mitad. Trata de llamar la atencion con el papel de la actriz porno, pero realmente es un papel que podria ser cualquier persona. Es una pelicula de ver solo si no hay nada mas disponible.
May 27, 2012
Pretty funny at times, emotional and SMART! I can't wait for "Elektra Luxx"!!!
May 25, 2012
Sexy! The ending interview was probably my favorite part; anyone can get a PhD.
½ April 10, 2012
An utterly pointless movie written so that the director could get loads of his famous actresses to undress
March 18, 2012
Every single dialogue was cult cult cult....
March 16, 2012
I didnt know what to make of this movie at first. It was kinda dry and it took me having to be patient and to watch it with my wife instead of watching it by myself in order to get into it. It turned out to be pretty funny and i enjoyed watching it. I love Hollie. The sequal "Electra Luxx" is just as good.
December 6, 2011
A silly flick about random occurrences with some good actors coasting through 1 1/2 hours
December 2, 2011
Thought it could have been good but for some reason it just did not work.
½ November 14, 2011
This one took a while to get into, but the ending was solid enough to make it worthwhile. The characters and their connections were the best part of this movie.
Page 1 of 9