Women of the Prehistoric Planet - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Women of the Prehistoric Planet Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ November 28, 2015
It is never made clear what exactly the relationship between the humans and the Centarians is. Ok, I know the movie isn‚(TM)t called "Women of the Prehistoric Planet: A Contemporary Introspective Study of Human ‚" Centarian Relationships", but hey, how about giving us just a clue. Some humans hate them, most distrust them, and all of them seem to treat them as second-class citizens. Why?
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2015
A cheap exploitational sci-fi about a space crew crashing on a primitive planet filled with women and one of the crew members (who isn't human) fell in love with another non-human on the planet. I spent more time sleeping than watching it.
½ July 2, 2014
This movie is horrible. The fact that it is too heavily plotted and the characters are bland is bad enough but then to tie it to being some king of SF origin story in the end just was nauseating.
½ October 5, 2013
The MST3K version of this stinker. I liked this one as they had a short interview with one of the actors reminiscing about her time on the set and how crappy it was.
November 3, 2011
Boring 60s sci-fi/jungle flick that really doesn't have many women on the prehistoric planet. In fact, there appears to be one. And she didn't originate from there. Also, John Agar still sucks in this one.
½ June 28, 2010
A low budget sci-fi film that has nothing to do with "savage planet women attacking female space invaders" like the poster says. Instead, this is a rather plodding tale of two spaceships. Some "Centauri" crewmembers on one ship mutiny, causing it to crash on an uncharted planet and the second ship goes on a rescue mission, arriving some twenty years later because of "time dilation."

The real subject matter of the film is race relations, with the "Centaurians" all being played by Asian actors and the "Humans" all played by whites and the message is that different races can and should get along. This is a noble sentiment of course, but the movie around it is both incredibly clunky, unintentionally condescending and has an incredibly lazy twist at the end.

It is a bad movie, but good for lovers of the genre. After all, this is the film that gave the world "Hi-keeba!"
½ April 16, 2010
i like stupid movies...but really, the title of the film has nothing to do with anything within the film. it's not a movie about a planet full of cave women...it's actually a story about asians (who apparently are of another planet) falling in love, eventhough the man backhands the woman at one point. i dunno. there's also lame spider puppets of death and various other stuff....and as i stated earlier, i like stupid movies...but this movie is mostly beyond my level of enjoyment in stupidity.
October 2, 2009
Strangely the plot in this film is more sphisticated then most modern blockbuster films. I gotta admit the Einsteins light speed time dilation confuses the hell out of me. (ugh me neanderthal neo-con) but the writer uses it pretty effectively and if for some absurd reason Michael Bay or Jackson decides to remake his film it might actually be pretty cool. But they should leave in the scene where the spacemen go out of their way to cross an acid pond over a log when they could easily walk around. The Star Trek esque setting is unreal as the film makers seemed to be Gene Roddenberry in disguise on a realllyy looooooooooow budget. Oh and Irene Tsu is one hot momma as the mother of the human race.
August 7, 2008
So apparantly, the first humans on Earth were Asian and white. This movie was really hard to sit through, and the ending is just so god awful...watch it with MST3K, you will thank yourself.
½ July 19, 2008
Tarzan an Jane, except on an alien planet.
½ April 18, 2008
Papier-mache' rocks and lead characters named Tang abound in this campy sci-fi classic. Hi-Keeba!
½ January 18, 2008
the plot behind this movie? non-existent. the bizarre title? inexplicable. this film's status of a crap classic? indisputable.
there's so many things to love-hate in this movie, like the stoned commander, the killer spider puppets, the ridiculously annoying engineer, and the eternal "tang." i'm still reeling from the shock that he fathered all of humanity.... (by the way, watch the mst3k version if at all possible. it makes it easier to make it all the way through.)
½ June 24, 2007
Horrible sci-fi courtesy of MSTK 3000.
March 9, 2007
and THIS is what I get after all those foreign flick....what a waste
Page 1 of 1