Would You Rather - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Would You Rather Reviews

Page 1 of 17
July 8, 2016
Not a great film, but obviously an irresistible pitch. Does engage you at times, tbh
July 8, 2016
DO NOT WATCH THIS TERRIBLE MOVIE
½ July 7, 2016
pretty good, interesting story..
June 26, 2016
Good concept but the film was a bad version of saw 2 with a seriously bad ending, no real storyline, so many unanswered questions, not very well thought out
June 22, 2016
A very enjoyable movie for a 3 Star horror movie on Netflix. Way better than I expected.
June 11, 2016
This an intense movie because of the really cringe worthy "would you rather" scenes the scenes are so hard to watch because of the realism in this movie there's no over-reliance on gore overall great film
½ May 30, 2016
would you rather not watch this?
May 10, 2016
Good movie! Good actors. Pretty gorey but exciting. I really enjoyed the movie and the ending was a cool twist.
½ May 5, 2016
Eh, it had some pretty intense scenes and twitchy parts to it. Worthy of a mention toward friends to watch.
May 3, 2016
This movie honestly fucked me up..
Super Reviewer
½ February 21, 2016
It is almost funny how Jeffrey Combs, eternal cult star of trashy B movies, seems to be the only one having a lot of fun pretty much like his character, while everyone else - all other characters and also us viewers - are forced to partake in this pointless torture porn derivative of Saw.
February 7, 2016
Jeffrey Combs is hammily fun in a Karloff-style turn as a sadistic millionaire in this otherwise drab, predictable thriller which finds a group of down-and-outers competing in a not-particularly-surprising 'game' to win a massive sum of money. Most of the twists are utterly unsurprising, the performances (other than Combs) are serviceable at best, and the reactions of the characters to their predicament is wholly unbelievable. Don't bother unless you LOVE Jeffrey Combs (and there's no shame in that).
February 3, 2016
So the movie didn't completely blow... but I'm not interested in ever seeing this again. I was intrigued because someone compared this to saw... now I LIKE the Saw series... but this was just not even close. The whole thing is just not worth watching. I think it had potential... but everything leading up to the end, and the ending itself just kill it.
February 1, 2016
Amazing !!! Everything !!!
January 26, 2016
although the acting was questionable and some of the dialogue was barely passable, I enjoyed this movie a lot due to its fine directing, very intense and suspenseful scenes, and it's restraint from becoming full torture porn. it has the potential to be a good guilty pleasure movie, but some of the unbearable dialogue and Sasha Grey's ridiculous performance, it doesn't quite reach the level of greatness. passable and enjoyable.
6.7/10
½ January 26, 2016
Would You Rather is a decent movie that I honestly thought it should've been more disturbing. The acting is really good, and it looks believable to see them act very afraid to do things that they don't want to do. The writing is decent, but can get a little silly. It does have some dark humor which are funny, but I'm not sure if they are intentional or not. Some of the stuff they had to do are disturbing, but it's been done before and I can tell what some of them are. The effects look good, and it is a bit disturbing at times. It is predictable to see what's going to happen during the end, and some scenes were just pointless. When it got to the end, I was surprised of what happened, but it really made the ending terrible and was trying to prove a point that ever decision you make would have consequences. Would You Rather does have some thrills and I actually was a bit entertained but it, even though it reminded me of some thrillers that are better than Would You Rather.
½ January 6, 2016
I thought this movie was absolutely repulsive. I love horror movies and I cannot manage to sit through this movie without turning it off. I think it is so wrong on so many levels, and I felt very uncomfortable the entire time. I felt that for me it was the question of "would you rather watch this movie and feel like I am about to vomit? or turn it off and find something else?" I am disgusted.
½ November 27, 2015
Great movie! Nice to see a new concept used rather than something rehashed.
November 11, 2015
I believe a story like this would work better as a stage play. The reason is that just 2 scenes pass out of the same place (well kinda 3) but still would work if they do it. The story is a drama (not a terror film to be honest). It's more an open mind movie where you need to think more than play a la SAW style (SAW is more strong+gory and this movie of WYR is not). Since fear is in the mind, you could think you will get scared if you pass for a situation like this (who wouldn't?). Now what I thought was predictable in a way (coz it was) is the ending. Can't reveal what happens but if you were in Iris's shoes, you know she choose wrong (I know people would do anything for family but if she realy cared, she would have not played this in the 1st place).

The cast + music score: I really enjoyed this cast and the music score was really well made. I must be honest. I got introduced to this film coz my brother is a terror/horror fan (I used to be until I saw a repetitive pattern in their stories for not saying cliches and got bored). I believe that in 2 days I got to see 2 films out of those cliches somehow: this one and The Babadook for real. So yes, love to see one of the final works of Snow (she did amazing in this role), same Robin Lord Taylor (got me! He was another reason to see this *I also forgot he was in Walking Dead, lord me!*).

Again, this story would have worked better on stage a la Richard III (making the front lines get a bit gory hehe. I know what I say coz I went to see that play on 2014 at London and was fun). Enjoy my short review and hope to see a 2nd part (hope in stage rather than on film). - November 11 2015 review.
Page 1 of 17