The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) Reviews

Page 1 of 8
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 7, 2011
Is it a stirring final hurrah for the show, wrapping up all its dangling plot threads? No. Is it an excellent evocation of what the show was, with a depth of soul and character most thrillers still don't bother with? Yes.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
January 14, 2009
A handful of TV series have moved from lengthy small screen runs to the big screen; few can match The X-Files in consistent quality and ability to engage its audience.
Read More | Original Score: 75/100
August 17, 2008
The X-Files 2: I Want to Believe isn't a groundbreaking film by any stretch %u2014 but that it challenges the viewer to consider certain moral imperatives in a season devoted to films revolving around explosions and fart jokes makes it a daring pie
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4
August 6, 2008
There's a very strong spiritual underside to The X-Files: I Want to Believe. It gives the story a lot of emotional weight, while also making the creepy stuff that much more disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 1, 2008
It's like an especially gloomy episode of the series, stretched a bit too long. And we miss the ad breaks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2008
This is essentially just a bog-standard (if slightly gruesome) thriller, but it's a treat to see Anderson and Duchovny together again and fans of the show won't be disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 1, 2008
The best thrillers dig deeper than this one does, as did the best of The X Files on TV before the series ran out of steam.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2008
The movie works as a decent enough thriller, but lacks some of the X factor of the original series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2008
I Want to Believe is too little, too late: a timid stab at reviving 1990s terror tropes in an age when the fuzzy fear of sci-fi has been replaced by darker and more real stories narrated by al-Qa'eda and CIA Black Ops teams.
July 31, 2008
An okay paranormal mystery, with solid work from the regulars - but please Mr Carter, next time, could we have liver-eating mutants or post-modern comedy like the really good episodes of The X Files?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 29, 2008
There is comfort just in spending time with Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) six years after the series ended.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 28, 2008
It isn't wine, and time doesn't do it any favors. But I do want to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 28, 2008
The movie gets into some pretty freaky territory in the third act, but for this casual fan of the series, it's a strong effort featuring some great characters.
July 28, 2008
A lot of those [stand-alone] episodes have been phenomenal, but this movie is not nearly on that level.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 27, 2008
If you are an X-Files fan, this is a journey worth taking with enough comforting familiarity to make it satisfying. If you know nothing about the X-Files, the film stands on its own well enough.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 26, 2008
This movie feels ten years too late, out of season (this is a Winter film, not summer) and sort of perfunctory. I like it in that luke warm hot apple pie kind of way.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 26, 2008
As a genre effort, it's strictly forgettable, but as an emotional addendum into the ongoing lives of Fox Mulder and Dana Scully, it is satisfying and bittersweet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 25, 2008
What the movie boils down to is a rather queasy rumination on good science vs. bad science, good faith vs. bad faith.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 8