The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) Reviews

November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 9, 2008
Only a fan would be inclined to tolerate this dunderheaded mystery.
July 31, 2008
The film's best scene is when Scully announces she'll perform a stem cell transplant that afternoon and immediately rushes to Google it.
Read More | Original Score: D
July 31, 2008
Lazy plotting, so-so performances and squandered ideas lead to only one diagnosis: there is no compelling reason to keep this moribund formula on a life-support machine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
July 28, 2008
The movie gets into some pretty freaky territory in the third act, but for this casual fan of the series, it's a strong effort featuring some great characters.
July 25, 2008
There may be no going back, as much as we might want to believe otherwise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 25, 2008
Astute readers will note that I have abstained from making cheap cracks about the I Want to Believe title, an almost superhuman feat given this movie's abundance of sheer nonsense.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 25, 2008
In the end it's all about these very full and rewarding lead characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 25, 2008
Carter doesn't try to meet or exceed fans' expectations so much as create an intimately scaled dramatic universe for his fiercely beloved characters, Dana Scully and Fox Mulder, to inhabit, circa 2008.
July 25, 2008
In not knowing who it needs to please, I Want to Believe pleases no one.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 25, 2008
Rather than providing a springboard to a movie franchise, this film puts the final nail in The X-Files' coffin. Mulder and Scully can now fade into pop culture history.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 25, 2008
The X-Files: I Want to Believe is atmospheric and moves briskly, but it's basically TV writ large.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 25, 2008
Most important, we get to see two gifted actors passionately revisit the roles that may forever define them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 25, 2008
Low in budget, inspiration and excitement, the film feels less like a bigger, better, widescreen reworking of the old goblins-and-G-men show than a forgotten script agonizingly stretched to feature length.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 25, 2008
The writers know these characters -- the believer seeking the truth no matter how outlandish; the religious skeptic with her own rock-hard belief in science -- and the actors step into their roles without missing a beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 25, 2008
By the time Carter and co-writer Frank Spotnitz throw in cartoon Russian villains and a risible plot point involving same-sex marriage, it's hard to figure where they, or their movie, is coming from.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
July 25, 2008
The truth is, they're boring now.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 25, 2008
Though the mood of The X Files: I Want to Believe remains consistently funereal, the storytelling is all over the place.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 25, 2008
Was this stuff always this bad? Or is this simply the fabled 'worst episode ever?'
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 25, 2008
David Duchovny's Fox Mulder and Gillian Anderson's Dana Scully are still chastely in love, the world is as dark and doomy as ever, and Billy Connolly, as a scurvy priest who may or may not be a visionary, steals the acting honors.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 25, 2008
The truth is, indeed, still out there. And when Carter finds it, may he heed its wisdom: Let go.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 24, 2008
This latest, and presumably last, X-Files installment is not an unpleasant way to pass a couple of hours, provided you, too, want to believe. But you have to want it pretty badly.
July 24, 2008
As a TV episode, it would be unmemorable but OK. As a theatrical feature requiring paid admission and a two-hour time commitment, uh, not so much.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 24, 2008
Why resurrect one of the most beloved pop-culture phenomena of the Clinton era, after six years on the sidelines? The hopelessly tardy new X-Files sequel I Want To Believe never provides a compelling answer to that question.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 24, 2008
With simple sanity and a refreshing lack of flash, Mulder and Scully capably lay out the dull evidence: Our big summer movies are part of a plot to trash our minds. I want to believe Mulder and Scully are correct.
July 24, 2008
The problem with the movie's semisupernatural crime plot isn't that the resolution is completely outlandish; it's that the outlandishness is insufficiently grounded in pseudoscience.
July 24, 2008
Gloomy and serpentine, with a pointless chase sequence and a couple of big revelations about what Mulder and Scully have been up to on a personal level, The X-Files: I Want to Believe will make believers of no one who's not already a diehard X-phile.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 24, 2008
A fairly routine crime procedural more suitable to the small screen than the wide screen.
July 24, 2008
The story is both a muddle and a drag, having to do with stem cell research and regeneration and missing limbs and a fraught psychic, and that's enough detail for the purposes of this review.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 24, 2008
The way the film marries its subplots will keep audiences off balance, which is exactly right for an X-Files movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 24, 2008
David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson do slip comfortably back into the roles that made them superstars in the 1990s, but the movie itself from director and X-Files series creator Chris Carter never feels like anything more than an extended episode.
July 24, 2008
A movie that benefits from -- but doesn't make very good use of -- the history and the chemistry between its stars, David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 24, 2008
As a movie, it doesn't add up to much; as another glimpse at two characters who remain fascinating, it's worth seeing.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 24, 2008
The ingredients are still there for what made people love the series in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 24, 2008
I make it sound a little silly. Well, it is a little silly, but it's also a skillful thriller, giving us just enough cutaways to a sinister laboratory to keep us fascinated.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 24, 2008
For the uninitiated, The X Files: I Want to Believe may seem as musty and forbidding as one of those dank secrets that Mulder and Scully were forever digging up from some backyard, or fetid swamp, or their own aching hearts.
July 23, 2008
Director/franchise creator Chris Carter gives devoted fans plenty of small moments to swoon over, but the appeal should be limited beyond those fervent loyalists.