Xi Feng Lie (Wind Blast) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Xi Feng Lie (Wind Blast) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 8, 2015
Wind Blast is a bad movie because its thin. Everything is so bare, it can barely constitute as a functioning story. Its about a man who takes a picture of the mafia boss who hires him as a low level assassin, and he goes on the run, killers and cops in tow. The weird directing style in the beginning is confusing as we don't get proper introductions to the characters. There's some talent here too, with Francis Ng as the baddie and Wu Jing as a rookie cop. Sadly, Wu Jing has one sloppily edited fight scene and disappears after 20 minutes. Ng tries to ham it up as the villain, but his less than stellar foil of a new assassin partner doesn't give him much to work with. Even though the back of the dvd cover promises: fistfights, shootouts, car chases, and equestrian work (!), the movie is just a scattershot collection of uninspired shootouts and two car chases, all very boring because the characters are not developed so I didn't give a damn. The only thing this movie has going for it is the locations. Marketed as a kung fu western, the rocky hills and mountains are beautiful, and sometimes the cinematography showcases that. When the beauty of your locations is the best part of the movie, something is clearly wrong. Martial arts movie fans, action movie fans, cinema fans, should all avoid this uninspired mess of a movie.
½ March 5, 2015
Only one of us can survive.

An amateur boxer with a pregnant girlfriend is in desperate need of money, so he takes on an assassination job, executes it, and escapes to the desert with his money and girl. Unfortunately, the man he killed is part of a gang so an assassin is hired to find the boxer and kill him. The boxer will have an assassin and gang in the desert looking for him and his wife. Can they survive under such extreme duress?

"I wish my brother was still alive."

Qunshu Gao, director of The Tokyo Trial, Old Fish, The Message, Beijing Blues, and Crimes of Passion, delivers Wind Blast. The storyline for this picture is just okay and felt like an action version of Dragon Inn. The action was solid but not outstanding and could have been better. The acting was okay and the cast includes Jacky Wu, Charlie Yeung, and Nan Yu.

"You're not afraid to die?"
"Dying is the easy part."

Wind Blast is a movie I came across on Netflix because it stars one of my favorite up and coming action stars, Jacky Wu. Unfortunately, he is a minor character in this film, like SPL. Unfortunately, this was very average and the action was too over the top. This is a very mediocre film only worth your time if you are a diehard fan of the genre.

"I confess!"

Grade: C
March 29, 2013
I'm not really sure what this film was about as it's hard to follow, has very little explanation and doesn't make much sense.
I think it's about some guy who's wanted for murder and he has 4 special polica guys after him and 2 crazy assassins as well. But mostly it's about the police and assassins fighting each other over this one guy who doesn't even seem that important.
The action is ok but it's nothing special. There are a few good ideas here and there but much of the film's action is repetitious. And I'm not sure why the police are made out to be these super cops at first but seem quite inadequate once the assassins show up.
It's guns, horses, SUVs and confusion in a washed out looking Chinese desert.
March 6, 2013
Gao isn't exactly Lam or Bay, but fans of their work should appreciate this. Awesome modern western, complete with horses. Great pacing, stunts and effects. The way they deal with the assassins is ridiculous. Hey, there are those guys that almost killed us! Should we shoot them? No! Let's let them escape! Hey, there's the lady that shot our friend! Should we shoot her? No, let's just put her in jail. What do you know, the lady killed a pregnant woman. Maybe now we shoot her? Nope!
deano
Super Reviewer
October 5, 2011
Good Chinese action and high octane modern western with expertly staged chases, shootouts, and fights. Environments are nice with lots of rocky hills, sand, and even snow. Pacing is about as blistering fast as humanly imaginable, with the entire film basically consisting of one gigantic action sequence. Characters are thin, but this is a rip-roaring shoot 'em up with tons of quality action to enjoy.
October 5, 2011
Good Chinese action and high octane modern western with expertly staged chases, shootouts, and fights. Environments are nice with lots of rocky hills, sand, and even snow. Pacing is about as blistering fast as humanly imaginable, with the entire film basically consisting of one gigantic action sequence. Characters are thin, but this is a rip-roaring shoot 'em up with tons of quality action to enjoy.
August 28, 2011
Seriously , Wind Blast Is A Movie That Started With An Action Packed But I Think A Lot Of Gun Fire , Car Chase And Many Thing In This Movie Isn't Work
July 31, 2011
From a director who clearly has a lot of love for American classics, a robust reimagining of action flicks, tranferred to the new chinese frontier myth. A clumsy begin, but wonderful cinematography and a wild bunch of showdown sequences of cops VS killers' posses made for an excellent fight, gringo.
June 11, 2011
Not the blast I expected, but definitely not a misfire, either.
½ April 10, 2011
There is really nothing in "Wind Blast", but gunshots, explosions, car chases, cool characters, and pure entertainment.
March 29, 2011
One of those movies... I sat through part of it and wonder when it is going to end. Some nice fighting scenes and great desert setting!... other than that... nothing much
½ March 26, 2011
Overextended chase and gunfight set pieces, though in nicely varied settings, drag this out long past the point of engagement. The widescreen format is used excellently, and fans of the Western might enjoy the depth of field in this context. The blues-rock inflected score is not an overt Morricone homage, either. But there's not much for Wu Jing to do in martial terms in this environment, nor Francis Ng in terms of drama. The mainland cast are more in their element, but forced anti-abortion, law & order and mentorship themes feel like just as much of a sop to censors.
Page 1 of 1