Yes Man Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
April 21, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
December 23, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out Chicago
October 6, 2011
As self-help comedy, the movie is no more overdetermined than its own highbrow counterpart, Happy-Go-Lucky.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Simon Reynolds
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
It's a decent enough time-killer for Carrey fans and those after something light and non-taxing after a heavy Christmas Day feast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
I have to admit that it was pretty funny a lot of the time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
April 4, 2011
As much as I try to convince myself I'm tired of Jim Carrey, darn it, he almost always amuses me.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 31, 2009
The benefits of grounding comedy in reality are never-ending, and Yes Man takes advantage of most of them. Peyton Reed is officially one of my favorite comic directors.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
May 21, 2009
...Jim Carrey's most entertaining comedy since 1997's Liar Liar...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 3, 2009
...a pleasant surprise: a romantic comedy that is cute, amiable, and winning without being excessively tedious, saccharine, or gross.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
March 1, 2009
we won't be awarding points for originality, but sometimes the familiar can be just fine
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
January 31, 2009
Sporadically funny, mostly amusing and harmless.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Eddie Cockrell
Sydney Morning Herald
January 8, 2009
The most even-keeled, pleasant and mainstream movie Jim Carrey has made in many a moon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Philip Wilding
Empire Magazine
January 5, 2009
It's charming enough with some nice comedy touches, but the initially intriguing premise is soon railroaded out of sight by its desire to conform to a tried-and-tested cinematic formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Evans
Sky Movies
January 5, 2009
It's that rare thing - an example of Hollywood getting hold of a good idea, working on it... and not screwing it up.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mark Adams
Daily Mirror [UK]
January 5, 2009
Yes Man is a terrific feelgood comedy, with Jim Carrey in brilliant form.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
January 5, 2009
Likeable comedy that's enlivened by a strong premise, a handful of laugh-out-loud moments and a superb supporting cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
January 2, 2009
May not deliver the huge laughs one may expect, but there are a fair amount of chuckles and a whole lot of surprisingly effective sweetness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Victor Olliver
Teletext
January 2, 2009
Terence Stamp's cantankerous self-help guru is a movie high point, a subtly comic performance of contrasts between what is practised and preached. And if the film's not always funny, it certainly works as romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Tony Medley
Tolucan Times
December 30, 2008
Carrey does not give his normal idiotically over-the-top performance. Buttressed by a good performance by Deschanel, this is yet another current film that pleasantly surprised me.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 8