Yi Yi - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Yi Yi Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 10, 2001
Irritating, indulgent and self-important.
January 1, 2000
Although it has its moments, Yi Yi is the type of movie that, if rented on tape, would be one that you would likely turn off after half an hour out of sheer lack of interest.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 26, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2017
I felt like I had lived it, and not just because of its nearly three-hour runtime.
March 2, 2001
Only rarely is a film this observant and tender about the ups and downs of daily existence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 10, 2001
Yang ties a dozen strands together elegantly with a mostly amateur cast.
May 14, 2001
So compassionate and heart-felt that you're virtually guaranteed to think, 'I have felt that way, too' while you watch it. Probably more than once.
March 31, 2008
Every beat and every image and every cut and every note feels like a part of a whole. It is a total movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
March 5, 2001
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
February 7, 2001
Yang's divine control and precision of his material is almost imperceptible.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 16, 2002
Yi Yi is a rare work of beauty, a thoughtful, touching, compelling study of humanity that demands to be seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 12, 2001
The filmmaker and his young hero are both obsessed with the minutiae of life, and together they sensitize us to it.
December 15, 2010
Blending the Coen Brothers' karmic rubicon with Robert Altman's ensemble heart, "Yi Yi" scratches the identifiable itch to reach out for what we've loved, set free and had come back, perhaps still not meant to be: jobs, lovers, freedoms, opportunities.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 10, 2001
The story, while playing like a soap opera on the surface, is chock full of wry human observations while showing great affection for its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 10, 2001
The complex story, written by helmer Yang, is a rich mining of the emotions, needs and desires of normal people.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 1, 2000
All of this is very much ordinary life, yet Yi Yi sucks you in vicariously somehow, and the film is extraordinary for that very reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 10, 2001
One of the best films of 2000....This wonderfully conceived and executed film reveals the subtle ways people reach out for each other.
March 5, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 21, 2002
This one is a masterpiece, despite being as inexplicable as a great work of music sometimes is.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
January 10, 2001
As I watched the final credits of Yi Yi through bleary eyes, I struggled to identify the overpowering feeling that was making me tear up. Was it grief? Joy? Mirth? Yes, I decided, it was all of these. But mostly, it was gratitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 4