You Can Count On Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Can Count On Me Reviews

Page 2 of 6
May 2, 2001
Some of its best moments are so painfully familiar that their overall theatricality is easily forgiven.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 2, 2001
This is a subtle, moving film, with great performances and a deceptively clever screenplay. I'm not educated enough to do justice to the brilliance of this film.
Full Review| Original Score: 5
March 19, 2001
Lonergan has two exceptional leads to carry the film through its rough patches.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 27, 2001
works well at conveying complex familial relations
| Original Score: 3.5/4
December 22, 2000
The key to Lonergan's success? He has faith in the intelligence of his audience. It's that simple -- and encouraging.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 22, 2000
I never thought I would say this, but I am starting to think that Laura Linney may, in fact, be a very good actress.
December 22, 2000
The characters are so likable and the situations so universal that you can't help but be won over by this low-key charmer.
December 22, 2000
This funny and involving film presents its well-drawn characters to us pretty much the way we would encounter them in life.
December 22, 2000
A smart movie with a lot of love behind it.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 22, 2000
So naturalistic and enjoyable is the interplay among Ruffalo, Linney and Culkin that you wish you could go look up Terry and Sammy after the closing credits and buy them a beer.
December 21, 2000
Linney and Ruffalo deliver wonderful performances.
December 21, 2000
A remarkable, heartfelt and hilarious journey that will leave you homesick with recognition.
December 14, 2000
When Terry describes Scottsville as a town full of 'dull, narrow people... with no perspective, no scope,' he might have been describing the film's characters.
January 1, 2000
Gem of a movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 1, 2000
A pleasant motion picture, offering a solid evening's worth of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
A subtle and often surprising study of the relationship between damaged adult siblings, full of mordant humor and dramatic invention.
January 1, 2000
The characters in You Can Count on Me have been freed from the formulas of fiction and set loose to live lives where they screw up, learn from their mistakes and bumble hopefully into the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
The only problem with this special film is its stark reminder of all the mediocrity other movies count on us to accept.
January 1, 2000
Thoroughly modest in its means and ambition, You Can Count on Me is one of the best pictures I've seen all year.
January 1, 2000
As cinema, it isn't much, but as a story, it's enough to set the Town Hall buzzing.
Page 2 of 6