You Can Count On Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Can Count On Me Reviews

Page 2 of 6
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
May 2, 2001
Some of its best moments are so painfully familiar that their overall theatricality is easily forgiven.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 2, 2001
This is a subtle, moving film, with great performances and a deceptively clever screenplay. I'm not educated enough to do justice to the brilliance of this film.
Full Review| Original Score: 5
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
March 19, 2001
Lonergan has two exceptional leads to carry the film through its rough patches.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
February 27, 2001
works well at conveying complex familial relations
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
December 22, 2000
The key to Lonergan's success? He has faith in the intelligence of his audience. It's that simple -- and encouraging.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
December 22, 2000
I never thought I would say this, but I am starting to think that Laura Linney may, in fact, be a very good actress.
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
December 22, 2000
The characters are so likable and the situations so universal that you can't help but be won over by this low-key charmer.
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
December 22, 2000
This funny and involving film presents its well-drawn characters to us pretty much the way we would encounter them in life.
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 22, 2000
A smart movie with a lot of love behind it.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Todd Anthony
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
December 22, 2000
So naturalistic and enjoyable is the interplay among Ruffalo, Linney and Culkin that you wish you could go look up Terry and Sammy after the closing credits and buy them a beer.
Theresa Everline
Orlando Weekly
December 21, 2000
Linney and Ruffalo deliver wonderful performances.
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
December 21, 2000
A remarkable, heartfelt and hilarious journey that will leave you homesick with recognition.
Dale Leech
PopMatters
December 14, 2000
When Terry describes Scottsville as a town full of 'dull, narrow people... with no perspective, no scope,' he might have been describing the film's characters.
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Gem of a movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
A pleasant motion picture, offering a solid evening's worth of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
January 1, 2000
A subtle and often surprising study of the relationship between damaged adult siblings, full of mordant humor and dramatic invention.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
The characters in You Can Count on Me have been freed from the formulas of fiction and set loose to live lives where they screw up, learn from their mistakes and bumble hopefully into the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
The only problem with this special film is its stark reminder of all the mediocrity other movies count on us to accept.
Top Critic
Peter Brunette
Film.com
January 1, 2000
Thoroughly modest in its means and ambition, You Can Count on Me is one of the best pictures I've seen all year.
Rob Nelson
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
January 1, 2000
As cinema, it isn't much, but as a story, it's enough to set the Town Hall buzzing.
Page 2 of 6