You Can Count On Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Can Count On Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6
January 1, 2000
Hollywood doesn't usually make films about brothers and sisters and I can understand why. Who would want to watch a story about me bickering with my sister?
May 14, 2003
| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
So timid and clumsy in its deployment of picture, sound, and editing that you have to wonder if executive producer Martin Scorsese bothered to give notes.
January 1, 2000
It is visually flat and uninteresting and too often feels like a (leisurely paced) filmed play.
December 14, 2000
When Terry describes Scottsville as a town full of 'dull, narrow people... with no perspective, no scope,' he might have been describing the film's characters.
October 11, 2016
Sweet family drama has profanity and mature themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
An ensemble character piece, You Can Count on Me counts on great performances, and Linney, Ruffalo, Culkin and Broderick deliver.
October 1, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
The characters in You Can Count on Me have been freed from the formulas of fiction and set loose to live lives where they screw up, learn from their mistakes and bumble hopefully into the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
A pleasant motion picture, offering a solid evening's worth of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Lonergan serves his superb screenplay well.
July 6, 2010
The lead characters are extremely well played by Laura Linney and Mark Ruffalo. Yet above all it is Kenneth Lonergan's writing and direction that left the biggest mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 22, 2000
A smart movie with a lot of love behind it.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 16, 2009
Stylized showmen do Rain Man and Forrest Gump, but it takes a natural actor like Ruffalo to pull off this strange beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 26, 2006
A quiet, amazingly sharp character study.
January 1, 2000
Thoroughly modest in its means and ambition, You Can Count on Me is one of the best pictures I've seen all year.
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 10, 2003
The best domestic comedy-drama in ages, a genuine American beauty without all the flash of American Beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 15, 2010
A score of Bach's unaccompanied cello suites befits siblings accustomed to solitude - passages of mourning and joy given life by characters with proper proportions of antagonism and affection. Unresolved yet complete, it's about replacing fear with truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 6