You Can Count On Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Can Count On Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
January 1, 2000
Hollywood doesn't usually make films about brothers and sisters and I can understand why. Who would want to watch a story about me bickering with my sister?
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
May 14, 2003
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Amy Taubin
Village Voice
January 1, 2000
So timid and clumsy in its deployment of picture, sound, and editing that you have to wonder if executive producer Martin Scorsese bothered to give notes.
Top Critic
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
January 1, 2000
It is visually flat and uninteresting and too often feels like a (leisurely paced) filmed play.
Dale Leech
PopMatters
December 14, 2000
When Terry describes Scottsville as a town full of 'dull, narrow people... with no perspective, no scope,' he might have been describing the film's characters.
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
January 1, 2000
An ensemble character piece, You Can Count on Me counts on great performances, and Linney, Ruffalo, Culkin and Broderick deliver.
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
October 1, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
The characters in You Can Count on Me have been freed from the formulas of fiction and set loose to live lives where they screw up, learn from their mistakes and bumble hopefully into the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
A pleasant motion picture, offering a solid evening's worth of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
January 1, 2000
Lonergan serves his superb screenplay well.
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
July 6, 2010
The lead characters are extremely well played by Laura Linney and Mark Ruffalo. Yet above all it is Kenneth Lonergan's writing and direction that left the biggest mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 22, 2000
A smart movie with a lot of love behind it.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Matthew Sorrento
PopMatters
November 16, 2009
Stylized showmen do Rain Man and Forrest Gump, but it takes a natural actor like Ruffalo to pull off this strange beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
A quiet, amazingly sharp character study.
Top Critic
Peter Brunette
Film.com
January 1, 2000
Thoroughly modest in its means and ambition, You Can Count on Me is one of the best pictures I've seen all year.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
January 10, 2003
The best domestic comedy-drama in ages, a genuine American beauty without all the flash of American Beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
December 15, 2010
A score of Bach's unaccompanied cello suites befits siblings accustomed to solitude - passages of mourning and joy given life by characters with proper proportions of antagonism and affection. Unresolved yet complete, it's about replacing fear with truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Bob Bloom
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Brent Simon
Entertainment Today
August 27, 2002
A spare [but witty] rumination on the interconnectedness of independent life and dependent family -- how we all need a place to drop anchor and exhale.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 6