You Can Count On Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Can Count On Me Reviews

September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
April 25, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 8, 2001
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
December 22, 2000
The key to Lonergan's success? He has faith in the intelligence of his audience. It's that simple -- and encouraging.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 22, 2000
I never thought I would say this, but I am starting to think that Laura Linney may, in fact, be a very good actress.
December 22, 2000
This funny and involving film presents its well-drawn characters to us pretty much the way we would encounter them in life.
January 1, 2000
A fountain of narrative surprise. You never know where this thing is going. And it's such a pleasure to tag along with these characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 1, 2000
Thoroughly modest in its means and ambition, You Can Count on Me is one of the best pictures I've seen all year.
January 1, 2000
A subtle and often surprising study of the relationship between damaged adult siblings, full of mordant humor and dramatic invention.
January 1, 2000
Lonergan serves his superb screenplay well.
January 1, 2000
If you see You Can Count On Me, you can count on a good, emotionally satisfying experience.
January 1, 2000
Superbly executed.
January 1, 2000
Gem of a movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: B+
January 1, 2000
Offers as rich and satisfying an emotional experience as any film this year.
January 1, 2000
It's simply a quiet and heartbreaking look at the dynamics of one family. That's the beauty of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Lonergan shows us what our movies rarely do: real people suffering real pains and joys -- in the small, cluttered ways that real life mostly brings.
January 1, 2000
The characters in You Can Count on Me have been freed from the formulas of fiction and set loose to live lives where they screw up, learn from their mistakes and bumble hopefully into the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
The only problem with this special film is its stark reminder of all the mediocrity other movies count on us to accept.
January 1, 2000
So timid and clumsy in its deployment of picture, sound, and editing that you have to wonder if executive producer Martin Scorsese bothered to give notes.
January 1, 2000
Beautiful, compassionate, articulate.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 1, 2000
It is visually flat and uninteresting and too often feels like a (leisurely paced) filmed play.
January 1, 2000
Satisfying in every respect, it's a piece of blue-collar chamber music, never treating the characters cheaply, allowing them a complex entwinement of emotions.
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
You Can Count On Me is one of the best movies to see this year. But more than that, it's also one of the best to simply listen to.
January 1, 2000
You Can Count on Me is the kind of good movie people say isn't made anymore.
January 1, 2000
A little movie concealing surprisingly big emotions.
January 1, 2000
With warm humor and perceptive writing, director Kenneth Lonergan displays a gift for creating realistic characters and a compelling story.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
Kenneth Lonergan ... has created a set of characters who slowly come to life before our eyes, imperfections, conflicts and all.
January 1, 2000
What's most important to Lonergan is that we care what happens to his characters -- and we do, very much.
Read More | Original Score: 85/100
January 1, 2000
Gives us not so much a slice of reality as a big picture window, polished and gleaming, through which we can see things that matter.
January 1, 2000
A pleasant motion picture, offering a solid evening's worth of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4