You Can't Cheat an Honest Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Can't Cheat an Honest Man Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 1, 2016
Fields is a happy victim
April 1, 2016
"You Can't Cheat an Honest Man" is a mediocre film and a lousy vehicle for W.C. Fields. Much of the runtime is devoted to other performers, and the circus setting doesn't allow for much of Fields' trademark humor.
March 6, 2016
Solid W.C. Fields flick matching wits with Charlie McCarthy
Super Reviewer
½ May 13, 2011
So I'm on a ventriloquist kick right now, it's all Jeff Dunham's fault.
½ April 28, 2011
W.C. Fields and Edgar Bergen (with Charlie) square off in this crazy circus picture, a sort of continuation of their 'radio fued' that was popular in the 1930's. It has some of Field's funniest moments, and even if ventriloquists are creepier than the dolls, when it is done right, then it can still be a lot of fun. And the story? Pretty average for a 30's comedy, but it's all about the gags and the jokes, and you know that's what's more important here.
½ August 30, 2010
Minor Fields vehicle... very funny when he's on screen, and limp when he's not. The whole dummy thing is just plain lame... The film overall would have been better if it had just been Fields non-stop, a la The Bank Dick. As for Fields himself, the fluency of the pratfalls is nothing short of amazing.
½ August 13, 2009
Fields is great...some of the other elements of this movie (and yes, I am including Bergen and McCarthy) are not.
Super Reviewer
½ October 9, 2008
It's not W.C. Fields's best, but it does have quite a few funny moments.
August 25, 2008
Fields is at his finest in this but the whole ventriloquist sub plot is very annoying.
½ May 31, 2008
W.C. Fields runs a circus, which is pretty much the greatest premise for a movie ever. This one is a bit more surreal than most Fieldsā?? films. Contains the greatest ping-pong match ever filmed!
November 19, 2007
i first watched this movie when i was really little and i still love it!!
Page 1 of 1