You Don't Mess With the Zohan - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Don't Mess With the Zohan Reviews

Page 1 of 10
January 2, 2018
Nothing about You Don't Mess With the Zohan is profound or profoundly classic; it's both wildly uneven and intermittently entertaining, mostly because it wants to fuse lowbrow comedy with a satiric punch.
December 28, 2010
I know someone out there must like these things, because Sandler keeps getting the money to make what is turning out to be the same movie over and over again, but I must not be tuned into his comedy wavelength.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
June 5, 2008
Eventually falls apart in a heap of pointless celebrity cameos and repetitive jokes about hummus.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 6, 2008
The Zohan could have worked significantly better if it was delivered in smaller doses, like say a reoccurring skit on "Saturday Night Live," but at 113 minutes the movie wears out its welcome long before the closing credits hit the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 6, 2008
Sandler and his crew -- Judd Apatow was a credited writer -- can't take this movie marriage of ambition and apathy down the aisle.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 6, 2008
Zohan may have an Apatow label, but it's got Sandler guts.
Read More | Original Score: 80/100
June 6, 2008
The result is another flabby comedy that gets its biggest laughs from thinly-covered penises and bare buttocks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 6, 2008
Evidently there's something even harder to pull off than Middle Eastern peace: a steady run of jokes that deserve our laughter -- if You Don't Mess With the Zohan is an indicator.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 3, 2008
But really -- 113 minutes? Some judicious trimming might have made the jokes' hit-to-miss ratio way more tolerable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 18, 2008
The ideas and some of the individual bits in Zohan work, but the crudeness of the execution undermines the results.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 5, 2008
The whole style of humor seems dated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 6, 2008
As one character says: "Can we do this another time? I think I have a real chance of keeping my food down tonight."
Read More | Original Score: D
June 4, 2008
When I watched "Zohan," I felt like I was watching two different films...both of them not very good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 5, 2008
Let's not mince words here, or hem and haw and add caveats about a few laughs or good intentions: You Don't Mess With the Zohan is astonishingly, impressively, depressingly bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
June 6, 2008
Cutting to celeb cameos as often as locks of hair fall to the floor of a Supercuts doesn't create comedy -- no more than sticking a person's head in a salon sink means it can wash/cut/style itself.el=1010828&title=Screen Savor Movie Review%3A You Don%27t
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
July 23, 2008
A comedy built around the belief that people speaking in foreign accents is endlessly funny, You Don't Mess With The Zohan is - how you say? - not good.
June 16, 2008
I'm all for politically incorrect humor, but there has to be humor in the political incorrectness, and I didn't get it here.
July 6, 2010
The idea that the unholy trinity of Sandler, regular cohort Rob Schneider, and director Dennis Dugan could re-unite after ...Chuck and Larry begs the question: just how much did these guys sell their souls to get another film green lit?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
June 6, 2008
You Don't Mess with the Zohan is the best Adam Sandler comedy in ages - but for only the film's first 20 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 6, 2008
It's a difficult feat to manage irony without antecedent, so rather than opt for knowing caricature -- like, say, Adam Goldberg's The Hebrew Hammer -- Zohan mostly opts for empty farce: topical humor for people unfamiliar with the topic.
Page 1 of 10