You, Me and Dupree - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You, Me and Dupree Reviews

August 24, 2006
A bit dull, since Dillon's constrained playing the straight guy, Hudson has little to work with, and Douglas looks bored.
August 6, 2006
You, Me and Dupree overstays its welcome but a compilation reel of Wilson's scenes would make for fairly funny viewing.
Read More | Original Score: B-
July 14, 2006
Owen Wilson is perilously close to doing a Dupree on his own career, by wearing out his welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree seems to have been made by people who don't know the difference between a light comedy and an inconsequential one.
July 14, 2006
Amiable if ragtag.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
This is the worst movie Wilson has made since he graduated from being Jackie Chan's punch line.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 14, 2006
Gifted though [the directors] may be in smaller doses, they're a long way from mastering the art of feature-length comedy.
July 14, 2006
Wilson deserves better, too. He's too smart to make me believe he'd actually think this movie is funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 14, 2006
Yet another comedy about a man-child who won't grow up, You, Me and Dupree has the faintly stale smell of food left overnight on the counter.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
Watching [Wilson] mug wildly in another uneven film short on plot, the audience may start to wish he would go away for awhile and stop turning up in such repetitive comedies.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 14, 2006
Think of the uncompromisingly mediocre comedy You, Me and Dupree as a referendum on whether audiences are tiring of Owen Wilson's beatific stoner dude character as rapidly as I am.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
Wilson, Dillon and Hudson are likable stars, and there are moments when their characters make a convincing circle of friends. But the Russo brothers don't have the maturity to blend the two prongs of the story they've written.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
If Wilson's trademark grin is looking jaundiced by the finale, he has only himself to blame. With You, Me and Dupree, he has produced a movie as lazy and immature as its title character.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 14, 2006
You, Me & Dupree is best when Wilson is on-screen, mucking around with exquisite deadbeat timing, baring his all -- or his almost -- as the situation demands.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
Director brothers Anthony and Joe Russo manage to keep the pace moving for the first two-thirds, steering clear of overt touchy-feeliness or extreme gross-outs. Then they suddenly lose their grip, and Wilson's good 20 minutes is up.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree is lazy, obvious, never emotionally real and, most unfortunately, sporadically funny at best. It's a movie you've seen before and you've seen done better. Owen, it's time to grow up.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
July 14, 2006
If you've seen the trailer, you've seen only half the movie -- and all the jokes.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree mostly sputters.
Read More | Original Score: C-
July 14, 2006
When he's firing on all cylinders, Wilson plays the trickster catalyst, the knowing knave with charming lassitude. Now if only his accidental sage can find a fable worth his goofball wisdom.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree features three first-rate actors in need of a first-rate movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree has the feel of a film that could have gone in any number of directions, and perhaps at one time went in all of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2006
Wilson is the most intolerable of all. Watching him slack his way through this movie made me feel like Lou Dobbs. I didn't like Dupree. I wanted him deported.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 13, 2006
This is cringe-inducing humor at its most wooden.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 13, 2006
You, Me And Dupree drains Owen Wilson's tank of charm down to the fumes.
July 13, 2006
I don't mean to imply that this film is any good or that it contains an ounce of genuine insight. But as a template for the big-baby genre, it's invaluable.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 13, 2006
Working with a shapeless script, directors Anthony and Joe Russo (Welcome to Collinwood) can't figure out what they're making.
July 13, 2006
The tone of You, Me and Dupree is smarmy in that institutional way that doesn't seem to know what the tongue is doing in the cheek, exactly, but keeps it there just in case.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 13, 2006
The end product feels less funny than formulaic. Not to mention profoundly disheartening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 13, 2006
You, Me and Dupree could just as easily be plotted on a flow-chart in the theater lobby, saving its audience a 10-spot and 108 minutes they'll never get back.
July 13, 2006
Artistically, You, Me and Dupree is a mess. Technically, it's an abomination. Spiritually, it's a void. Commercially, it'll probably be a big hit.
July 13, 2006
Although the movie offers a few chuckles here and there, it fails on almost every level.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 13, 2006
There are several problems with the romantic comedy You, Me and Dupree, not least that there is no filmmaking to speak of.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 13, 2006
Dupree feels like the most opportunistic of Hollywood 'packages' -- a trio of appealing stars with proven track records in this sort of fare paired with a script that's been cobbled together out of odds and ends of other, better movies.
July 13, 2006
Something, anything needs to be done soon to keep Wilson's stoner-savant persona from becoming as generic a product as dairy-case cookie dough.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 13, 2006
Were it not for the A-list cast, You, Me and Dupree is an effort one might expect to move directly to video store shelves, bypassing multiplexes altogether.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 12, 2006
The joke, of course, is that it's really Owen Wilson who's in control. He can't play the dazed rogue forever, but for now he's the happy master of that domain.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 12, 2006
What makes Owen Wilson a special exception is that his characters always work to make the world more child-like and whimsical, and the films brighten up as a result.
Read More | Original Score: B
July 12, 2006
After several false endings, this overlong comedy finally comes to a close. But for everyone involved, the honeymoon was over before it even began.
July 11, 2006
The movie goes from being another mildly depressing lump of unrealized comic potential to being an actively unpleasant experience.
July 8, 2006
A middling third-wheel comedy elevated a couple of notches by the ineffably weird charms of Owen Wilson.
July 7, 2006
The comedy is obvious and flat while the drama is stale.