Young Man With a Horn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Young Man With a Horn Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ March 12, 2016
Gritty Warner Bros. drama with music traces the rise of a young trumpet player (Kirk Douglas, dubbed by Harry James); Doris Day and Lauren Bacall play the good/bad girls in his life.
½ December 19, 2015
Good music helps tell the story of what it means to be an artist in the Jazz world.
August 20, 2014
Esta es una película obligada para todos los amantes de la música. Michael Curtiz ("Casablanca") nos presenta la historia de Rick Martin, un trompetista de Jazz basado en la vida del gran Bix Beiderbecke, que solo vive para su música, hasta que el desengaño amoroso, y la incomprensión de la gente que lo rodea lo hace tocar fondo. Kirk Douglas es perfecto en el papel del trompetista y Doris Day y Lauren Bacall son las actrices ideales para interpretar a las mujeres en la vida de Rick. Una película perfecta con una fotografía que nos hace vivir a la Nueva York de los inicios del Jazz.
½ August 30, 2013
Tacked-on Hollywood ending aside, 'Young Man With a Horn' is a typically themed art vs. career-type jazz pic, with some good tunes (dubbed by Harry James), and fine performances by the three leads. Lauren Bacall makes for a particularly spine-chilling Ice Queen here, and Doris Day is a warm counterbalance to her as the rival for trumpet player Douglas' affections. The movie's also fairly progressive in its view of black musicians and their musical influence, so another plus.
½ April 14, 2013
Young Man With a Horn is a remarkable film. It is about an aimless youth who learns that he has a gift for music and falls in love with the trumpet. Kirk Douglas, Lauren Bacall, and Doris Day give incredible performances. The screenplay is well written and the music is also excellent. Michael Curtiz did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the drama and music. Young Man With a Horn is a must see if you love music.
June 5, 2012
Peculiar, mainly unknown drama about a trumpet player (Kirk Douglas) who plays with a band to whom he does not like his boss and finds interest in an attractive singer (Doris Day). He quits his band, taking the piano player (Hoagy Carmichel) along with him so that he can concentrate more heavily on his music and his woman. They begin to fall in love, only to be interrupted by a friend of Day's character, a mysterious, sexy doctor (Lauren Bacall), to whom he eventually weds. Strange, compelling drama that is quite odd, but succeeds thanks to the big band music and good performances by Bacall and Douglas. It is notable film, because of what happens in the second half with Bacall, where it is implied she is a lesbian. Certain terms to describe Bacall's lesbianism that Douglas uses, such carnival side show, are definitely not used today. Fairly underrated movie with an odd outcome.
½ October 14, 2011
A very, very interesting movie - such complex and compelling characters! It's not a plot-driven film, which makes it so large in scope and realistic, actually, as we follow Rick Martin from childhood to adult life. The symbolism is quite profound and the theme, very worthwhile. Amy's (Lauren Bacall) inability to play the piano boldly reflects her inability to find a purpose in life. Rick's (Kirk Douglas) struggle to reach the high note on his trumpet reflects the impossibility of finding life's purpose in musical talent alone. Jo's (Doris Day) simplicity exemplifies the honest, selfless, caring goodness we should all strive for to be truly happy. Art Hazzard's (Juano Hernandez) words to Rick are also quite didactic when you think about it. A quite inspiring film, I'd say, that wonderfully moves above the genre/cliche summaries it is given on the DVD cover!

And the music, of course, was top-notch. I loved hearing Harry James do his magic! And Doris Day, of course. What a musical feast! The acting, especially by Kirk Douglas, was very good. I actually came into this not caring much for watching Douglas, but in the end, he came off as a very likable guy, the occasional boyish innocence confused by a world that does not make sense.
½ August 18, 2011
What a great movie! With a star- studded cast too! I'm not sure why this movie is so overlooked. Kirk Douglas is a struggling musician whose only friend is his trumpet. Through his life, and until the teenage years, life isn't so good. But once he becomes an adult, life turns around. He gets a good job working as a trumpet player in a big band, and he meets nice singer Doris Day, a woman who he is beginning to love. When going to dinner with her one night, he meets her friend Lauren Bacall. He is deeply attracted, and they get married, but when it turns out she's cold- hearted and mean, problems start to happen. This is truly an underrated, classic drama. Everything might be over the top and melodramatic, but that's certainly OK, because the plotline is interesting throughout the movie. This is one of Kirk Douglas first roles, and was fresh from his Oscar nominated work in boxing movie "Champion". It was a good follow up, because I felt like this must have been a challenging performance, and he nails it better that I could have ever imagined. Doris Day is in an early role as well and had only made her film debut a year earlier. Her movies prior to this were all forgettable musicals, and somehow this one always gets overlooked. It's irritating to think that some people are wasting their time watching them instead of this! The one who shines them all out is obviously Lauren Bacall. She usually wasn't the type to play mean characters, obviously from her film noirs she made with Humphrey Bogart a few years before. She was soft then, but here she's as tough as nails. Though her only Oscar nomination was 1996's "The Mirror Has Two Faces", that was long overdue and she should have gotten one for this. "Young Man with a Horn" is pretty much what I describe as underrated, and anyone who wants a star- studded cast doing their best, I highly recommend it
Super Reviewer
October 24, 2010
Kirk Douglas plays a young man with a horn, a trumpet that is. He wants to play jazz, and he struggles through life and his alcoholism and bad love life. An interesting story, and great performance from Kirk. I liked this movie.
May 7, 2010
This film fittingly rewards the shelving of one's passion with Doris Day. Wet-behind-the-spitvalves Douglas gee-whizzes his way through half the picture until dilettante rich bitch Bacall weans him off milk, marries him, and injects his life with more jazz than he's ever felt. Still, the horny young man continues to play standards in lily-white venues while holding onto a dream of hitting that "high" on his own terms, in his own métier, irrespective of the whitebread universe of the script. The film is a long and dated melodramatic fizzle, although Carmichael's comments about the value of professional musicians for the public still ring true.
½ February 5, 2010
the movie isn't great but Lauren Bacall is.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ February 5, 2010
Great music, good performances from the three leads.
littlecharmer1959
Super Reviewer
March 10, 2009
Nothing very remarkable here. The story isn't exactly the most interesting or entertaining. The performances are all adequate, with Douglas playing the musician having to chose between the good girl or the bad girl (Doris Day and Lauren Bacall). By the time Bacall's character had departed I had started to get bored of the whole thing and the tag on Hollywood ending. The soundtrack is not bad though with heaps of cool jazz and a couple of Doris Day numbers thrown in, plus there are some nice exterior shots of New York.
½ January 4, 2009
This is in the Doris Day colection and shes hardly in it.
July 31, 2008
a new favorite. Lauren Bacall was robbed of an Oscar in this film. She's so screwed up!! When she has her breakdown!! OMG! What could be better Harry James dubbing beautiful Kirk Douglas (who is incredible), Doris Day singing standard after standard, Hoagy Carmichael narrating and acting up a storm, and of course the amazing Lauren Bacall.
January 21, 2008
this movie is amazing
January 2, 2008
Cruel mind games steeped in secret love affairs and music. Dark shadows cast over Bacall's cat eyes and we have a hit.
½ December 27, 2007
Best movie Doris Day ever made!
November 6, 2007
lovely movie, and a great story! I loved Doris Day and Kirk Douglas, but thought that Lauren Becall was a mean cow in it, but i suppose that was just her character! I do like Lauren Becall though! Good actress. I just think it's sad about him turning to drink and about his mentor dying - Juano Hernandez who was really great and gave a heart-wrenching performance.
Page 1 of 2