Your Mommy Kills Animals - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Your Mommy Kills Animals Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 28, 2012
Huh... sounds interesting...
December 19, 2011
a documentary that looks at the animal liberation movements, including PETA, ALF, and SHAC. Ya know, i never noticed how hypocritical PETA is until i watched this movie...and saw that they too are killing animals - and, then have the balls to say they're doing it "Humanely" what a bunch of bull. they also look at the stuff that went down after Katrina - and, how the small grassroots movements did more to help then the humane society. Very good film - but, some of the pictures and videos they show are more than graphic. And, if you're wondering where they got the name of this film from - it's actually from a PETA comic - they get more in depth with that too. They showed more view points from everyone - so, i'm not shocked it won an award for best documentary when it debuted. And...also, they went against PETA and all the big ones that are supposed to be for animals. That's a nice stand! After this film, i'll be shocked if you still support PETA.
½ November 16, 2011
An interesting, informative, but unfortunately overlong documentary about animal rights activists and the various tactics they use. The director wisely decides not to take a stance himself, but, rather, allows for all sides to speak. This approach educates the audience without being ponderous, and it also allows the viewer to come to his or her own opinion. It also means that the film drags and becomes redundant at points. Nevertheless, I strongly recommend this film to anyone interested in the subject.
October 21, 2011
It's disturbing, but it also exposes the truth. It has the ability to have the viewers question their beliefs about animal shelters and major organizations like PETA, HSUS, etc. It truly is presented with an aggressive social commentary which may be a little too extreme; on the other hand, and as previously stated, this method is mind changing. It manages to show several opinions, which vary greatly from one another, divided by balanced camera time and by main target. A true animal rights/welfare masterpiece.
½ August 8, 2011
Finally a way to really show what it's all about and how messed up HSUS and PITA are.
Super Reviewer
September 4, 2010
The inside scoop on the animal rights movement and those out to stop them. Be amazed at who ends up with egg on their face. A good effort at being non judgmental with the facts laid out for the viewer to decide.
½ July 16, 2010
A thought-provoking look at the varying perspectives on animal rights, animal cruelty, and its associated organizations. The documentary is biased, but provides enough insight into the contradictions of major organizations like PETA, HSUS, and violations of the first amendment to make it worth checking out.
May 27, 2010
This documentary seemed to have a clear bias of ALF and the SHAC7 over PETA. I now understand the motives of ALF and SHAC, and their logic is sound, but I still think they're missing something. Whenever they destroy a lab, its rebuilt, and the cruelty continues with a whole new set of animals. However, I have to give this documentary props for clearly presenting PETA as the hypocrites they really are, who insists that "we have to kill them to save them." If anything should be taken away from this choppy and ill-thought-out film, it should be that if one is to support any animal organization, it should be a small one, one that doesn't waste its funds on ridiculous advertising campaigns.
½ January 10, 2010
as vegan a must-see ;)
½ June 16, 2009
"Your Mommy Kills Animals" (an allusion to a comic PETA distributed to kids) is an attempt to document the various shades of animal activism, through a collage of interventions by the members of various organisations, celebrities and opponents of animal liberation; disturbing footage on animal abuse; videos of actions ranging from street and home demonstrations to the break-ins and arsons of the ALF; and a more extensive treatment of the SHAC7 trial, the conclusion of which is also that of the film itself.

The film seems mostly preoccupied with the strategies of various animal organisations, comparing rightists with welfarists; trying to determine whether direct action (i.e. terrorism) is effective in changing minds and behaviours, or whether it makes problems worse or simply displaces them (inciting vivisectionists to relocate to countries where supervision and more or less peaceful protest are much more difficult); and evaluating various types of groups as to whether animals are actually better off thanks to them, or whether they are just loud talkers who let the animals down when push comes to shove.

PETA takes a lot a criticism as a group that kills more than 80% of the animals it "rescues" (but I'm not sure than sheltering animals is PETA's business, since they will only "rescue" about 2000 animals in a given year, which is not much for a nationwide organisation); and HSUS is totally denigrated as an organisation that spends more than 50% of its donations in fundraising, and completely failed to save animals in the aftermath of hurricane Katrina.

Though there is no voiceover and therefore the document itself does not really take sides, one gets the feeling that the true heroes of the piece are the grassroots groups, no-kill animal shelters and individuals like you and me who save an animal or two by providing them with a home and responsible, lifelong care. Celebrities who endorse PETA or other nationwide groups are criticised for their lack of discernment, or even for their hypocrisy. For instance, one opponent of animal rights even attacks Pamela Anderson as a self-contradictory advocate of animal welfare because her breast implants and collagen have been tested on animals (as are, by federal law, all the ingredients of products that are advertised as not having been tested on animals.)

Much of the film is devoted to the more radical actions of the ALF (Animal Liberation Front) and the home or office harassment strategy of SHAC (Stop Huntington Animal Cruelty); whether such groups actually deserve to be called terrorists, let alone the most dangerous domestic terrorists in the U.S.; and whether their tactics come under the protection of freedom of speech (which I do not believe, though the question of whether they are right is different.)

I found this film to be a very informative panorama of the animal rights movement, providing an excellent counterpart to "I Am not an Animal" (which focused on Ingrid Newkirk), and offering much food for thought to a vegan Catholic and a conservative like me, who has no idea where he fits in the existing mosaic of animal groups.
February 24, 2009
Absolutely amazing documentary! So sad, yet so insightful. Loved it!
February 24, 2009
a documentary that looks at the animal liberation movements, including PETA, ALF, and SHAC. Ya know, i never noticed how hypocritical PETA is until i watched this movie...and saw that they too are killing animals - and, then have the balls to say they're doing it "Humanely" what a bunch of bull. they also look at the stuff that went down after Katrina - and, how the small grassroots movements did more to help then the humane society. Very good film - but, some of the pictures and videos they show are more than graphic. And, if you're wondering where they got the name of this film from - it's actually from a PETA comic - they get more in depth with that too. They showed more view points from everyone - so, i'm not shocked it won an award for best documentary when it debuted. And...also, they went against PETA and all the big ones that are supposed to be for animals. That's a nice stand! After this film, i'll be shocked if you still support PETA.
½ January 14, 2009
Wow, this is very important, not just because of the brutal suffering innocent dogs and cats and other species are subjected to for questionable scientific research but because of how the Feds are trying this activists as terrorist using the Federal Animal Enterprise Protection Act
November 1, 2008
Very very interesting. Sad, shocking and informative.
Super Reviewer
April 12, 2008
Animals, bugs, smal children and the dinosaurs
January 26, 2008
Not just one sided, and presents the today's many animal rights groups. In addition it has some interesting facts.
Definitly worth a watch for those interested in the subject.
January 5, 2008
Considering the explosive nature of this topic, this was an amazingly even-handed look at the debate around animal rights and animal welfare. When it initially started out, I was afraid that this was going to be an animal rights/welfare opinion piece a la Michael Moore, but Curt Johnson really found a great balance showing all sides of the issue. I don't know that it's necessarily going to sway anybody to one side or the other, but for anyone interested in the subject, this presents all sides in about as fair a light as you're going to find (except for the HSUS and PETA, who get raked over the coals, but they declined to be represented here). If I was a member of the SHAC 7, I'd be suing Pam Ferdin (former president of SHAC), I've got a feeling her shrill, self-righteous testimony at their trial probably did much damage to their case. And who knew that the Barbi twins were capable of some pretty thought-provoking intelligent conversation? All in all, a great primer on the issue and a good jumping-off point for anyone wanting to learn more about it.
January 1, 2008
11111111111111111111111
December 26, 2007
who wold want to see a killer animal movie?
Page 1 of 4