Your Sister's Sister - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Your Sister's Sister Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Top Critic
Chase Whale
November 8, 2013
It's comforting to watching dramatic and comic fiction regarding the things some of us actually have to deal with in life. When done right, those kinds of films are worth your time. YOUR SISTER'S SISTER happens to be one of them.
Will Leitch
July 2, 2013
Even when the story line tries to wrench the characters in a certain direction, they keep returning to something real and honest. I want these people to be my friends.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
June 2, 2013
Don't be surprised if you find yourself nodding off mid-movie, bored silly by a trio of good actors stuck in a dull scenario about a young man caught in a highly implausible kerfuffle involving two sisters and a leaky condom.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Charles Ealy
Austin American-Statesman
January 8, 2013
It's not rollicking summertime fare, and it won't offer easy answers. But it's an entertaining failure -- just like its characters.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 8, 2013
Movies that start well and end badly occur often enough, and yet even knowing that is no preparation for what happens to Your Sister's Sister.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 1, 2013
There is some witty banter and some interesting developments. The acting is solid by the three leads.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Stephen Silver
December 14, 2012
I think I need a break from Mark Duplass for awhile. At least, from the Mark Duplass who isn't arguing about fantasy football with Ruxin and Taco.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
November 5, 2012
What could have been trite male wish-fulfillment is instead beholden to genuinely messy revelations: life as a tattered, living quilt we sew and wear as one.
| Original Score: 3/4
Cara Nash
FILMINK (Australia)
October 24, 2012
It's in the completely natural interactions between this gifted cast that the film really hits its groove.
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
September 28, 2012
For a film that relies on conversation and connection, it's awfully plot-heavy, full of "Aha!" dramatic revelations that feel more suited to a soap opera than an indie dramedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 27, 2012
This lo-fi comedy is big on charm but was a little too shaggy for my taste.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mary Clare Waireri
Fan The Fire
September 18, 2012
Although the action of Your Sister's Sister soars to an ultimately implausible conclusion, solid performances from Emily Blunt, Mark Duplass and Rosemarie DeWitt keep the overall piece afloat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jonathan Lack
We Got This Covered
September 14, 2012
Your Sister's Sister is a fine piece of character observation. It's low-key, casual, and tremendously insightful. It won't be for everybody, but that's a good thing. It's a strong, focused piece of work.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Dominic Corry
September 13, 2012
One of the most purely pleasurable 'grown-up' films I've seen this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 7, 2012
A trident of terrifically earthy performances grounds this sharp, twist-laden romantic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Glenn Dunks
September 6, 2012
A wonderfully funny and uncharacteristically easy take on a genre that has been in disrepair for some time.
Philippa Hawker
The Age (Australia)
September 6, 2012
Deceptively meandering and unexpectedly complex, Your Sister's Sister combines a poignant, funny directness with a teasing incompleteness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
September 6, 2012
Right from the get-go, this indie American talkfest exudes a confidence, a composure and, dare I say it, a cool that extinguishes any cynicism in the room.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
September 5, 2012
Structured more as a comedy than a drama, Your Sister's Sister is easy to like.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
September 5, 2012
Everything that takes place on screen feels convincing as Shelton is more concerned with representing her characters truthfully rather than pushing an agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7