Youth Without Youth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Youth Without Youth Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 21, 2007
Youth Without Youth proves that Francis Ford Coppola can still make a movie, but not that he still knows how to choose his projects.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 21, 2007
Too much of the film is a muddle, and it feels like work, not play.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 14, 2007
Mr. Coppola is one of the cinema's peerless masters, and I would have enjoyed nothing more than a chance to celebrate his new film. I'm truly sorry to say, then, that I found it impenetrable.
December 21, 2007
Virtually every scene is suitable for framing, if not necessarily for watching.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 13, 2007
A a slick-looking but frustrating hodgepodge of sci-fi, political thriller, period drama and metaphysical romance with heavy overtones of Eastern philosophy. Confused yet?
Full Review | Original Score: C-
December 17, 2007
A work of stunning inertia and obtuseness, Francis Ford Coppola's return to the director's chair is a disaster of career-destroying proportions...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 26, 2007
The director treats his material as if it were Last Year at Marienbad, yet his story's particulars are too goofy and too incompatible to result in something haunting or beguiling.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 4, 2008
This is the perfect example of what can happen when a producer/director/writer doesn't have to answer to anyone. Coppola makes an artistic mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
November 14, 2008
A stilted and inelegant work, well below par for Francis Ford Coppola
February 29, 2008
It often feels like a dream -- specifically, someone else's, a nonlinear, illogical synapse explosion that's always fascinating to the person in whose head it detonated but not so much to those experiencing it secondhand.
May 9, 2008
With all the nurses making moves on the suicidal old codger's renovated physique, Coppola's Youth Without Youth comes across as somewhere between The Godfather On Viagra and Apocalypse Then, Redux.
December 29, 2007
A boondoggle so obnoxious in concept and execution that it's hard to see why [Coppola] thought that it might be a good idea to try filming it in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
December 14, 2007
I don't want to say this thing is complicated, but Tom Stoppard just called to beg for an explanation.... I apologize for all the elements I'm leaving out, but my editor ordered me to keep this piece under 40 million words.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 14, 2008
Coppola may be back, but he's a long way from being back on form.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 24, 2007
Francis Coppola's gasping adaptation of Mircea Eliade's out-of-print novella should provide the tipping point at which audiences start avoiding the exasperated genre of magical realism that crept into modern film vernacular with a vengeance.
Full Review | Original Score: D
December 13, 2007
Unless you're interested solely in strikingly beautiful photography there's nothing very satisfying about Youth Without Youth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 12, 2007
An incomprehensible, pretentious, meandering mess -- so self-serious, it's laughable.
December 14, 2007
The craftsmanship is undeniably polished. It's just too bad the story is so plodding and pretentious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 21, 2007
I'm all for bold screwiness, but this provocation seems labored despite the striking images.
December 13, 2007
Coppola drags everyone on a humourless trudge through a jungle of pretension that will have most moviegoers glazing over long before an ending that really isn't worth the wait.
Page 1 of 6