Zarafa - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zarafa Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 26, 2016
The animation is pleasant and the characters are likable, but the story lacks the depth to deliver its moral.
May 10, 2016
Animation is nice, the characters are nice, the story is nice....so "nice" that the total is hard to grasp on to. Not without its charm, but completely without a backbone.
November 25, 2015
Seen it today, loves it just like I love the Kirikou series. I love the real life, real tragedy that French animated movies bring. And it was great to hear some French language.
August 1, 2014
Retrieves the beauty of more traditional animations, and knows how to dose carefully realism, humor and fantasy fit on the incredible true story that purports to tell.
November 16, 2013
A very well told and beautiful story that will keep you wanting to see how it will end. A Great watch !
½ June 15, 2013
a beautiful hand-drawn animated french film filled with an endearing grand adventure vibe.
April 27, 2013
this is probably one of the most beautiful movies i've ever seen!
½ April 12, 2013
Cute african story with nice characters.. it doesn't reach the "purity" of Kirikou but it's absolutely worth watching with kids for its meaning and the values it shows.
½ April 12, 2013
Cute african story with nice characters.. it doesn't reach the "purity" of Kirikou but it's absolutely worth watching with kids for its meaning and the values it shows.
½ February 5, 2013
Zarafa French animated film directed by Rémi Bezançon and Jean-Christophe Lie.

An old man narrates the story of Maki a young boy who escapes from an slave trader. He finds a baby giraffe whose mother was shot dead by slave-trader, and he names her 'Zarafa' (an Arabic name for giraffe). Maki earlier promised to dying mother of Zarafa, to look after her baby giraffe - an Arab horse-rider takes hold of Zarafa in a bid to present it as a gift from the Egyptian viceroy Muhammad Ali Pasha to France's King Charles X, in hope that the Gallic monarch will help liberate Alexandria, which has been occupied by the Turks.

The movie has distorted the historical facts. In fact Ottoman viceroy to Egypt Muhammad Ali Pasha was asked by Sultan Mahmud II to send a rare giraffe to French monarch, in an effort to please him, whose country was supporting Greeks.

2 BIGGEST PROPAGANDA IN THIS FILM
1. It's popular phobia of Europeans to yell as much as they can, when someone shows them back - this animation movie seemed a propaganda film to educate young and adults with negative perspective about Turkey (this should be considered biggest crime in film industry to misuse great art of cinema and later distort historical facts to one's own expectations).

2. When Hassan fetches Zarafa and kid to a tent-man in mid of desert, he tells Hassan, that cows are from Tibet! Upon questioning by Hassan regarding 'what's Tibet'? The eccentric man replies, 'it's a big country!'. No sooner did I hear this, my attention for movie expired and I knew what was ahead in the movie for me and the innocent audience of Europe, who find films the only source to learn about things.

Excuse me, but I still wanna demonstrate the facts that China has been most famous in the Muslim/Arab world for centuries - the great evidence should be the famous saying of Islamic Prophet Muhammad PBUH from 571-633

"Seek knowledge even if you have to go as far as China"

In those days China was considered farthest land in the world, famous travelers would sail to China or India. So, how come Mr. Rémi Bezançon thought a man in desert living with two cows, know that Tibet is a biggest country? Such people should be brought on stage and bombarded with factual questions on distorting history to their advantage.

NOTE: Excuse me if this review offends anyone!
½ January 2, 2013
This started off so well and the animation is beautiful. But the film loses steam halfway through as you start to realize there is no real point to this story. Beautiful art, bad story choice.
½ November 17, 2012
Tiene un poco de Verne, de Kipling, de Dickens... Pero aaay, si hubiesen pulido un poco más el guión. Aún así, se ha colao entre las finalistas a nominación al Óscar.
April 7, 2012
Une histoire très poétique et bien narrée. On s'attache à Hassan, Maki et Zarafa. On aurait presque envie de parcourir le monde en ballon et d'adopter une girafe à la fin.
March 10, 2012
Belle histoire avec 1 belle morale
March 1, 2012
I don't like the girage
February 28, 2012
great french cartoon
February 12, 2012
Beau dà (C)cor, belle histoire pour les petits comme pour les grands... Bon ok j'avoue j'ai eu un gros faible pour la girafe, elle est trop chou ! :-)
½ February 12, 2012
Great children's film.
½ December 22, 2011
C'est pas parce que c'est Pathà (C), mais je dirai : un petit bijou ! Un film gà (C)nial pour les petits, à la manière des anciens Disney, mais aussi pour les grands ! On ne s'ennuie pas et le dessin est très beau, un type d'animation un peu particulier (plans de paysage fixes et personnages plus en lumière qui bougent sur l'arrière plan), une belle musique qui n'est pas sans rappeler Lawrence d'Arabie.. A voir avec vos enfants et sans hà (C)sitation !
Page 1 of 1