Zero Dark Thirty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zero Dark Thirty Reviews

Page 1 of 14
July 14, 2016
Chastain dominates the screen, her character evolving from nervous but willing to domineering and demanding.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 21, 2016
A great American film: complicated, nuanced, searching, piercing, difficult - and yet thrilling and satisfying all the same.
May 10, 2016
There's hardly a dull moment in Zero Dark Thirty. Kathryn Bigelow's Oscar hopeful... is a skin-tight, effective procedural with a maddening focus on the CIA's decade-long manhunt of the elusive bin Laden.
April 17, 2016
Minimalism is a valid creative choice, but in this case, it renders an extraordinary story very ordinary. And the real-life heroes, flaws and all, were anything but.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 6, 2016
As grueling as parts of it are, though, you may not love it. You may not even like it. But, regardless of your politics, you're all but guaranteed to appreciate it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 6, 2016
Bigelow pulls us into the twilight world of terrorism, betrayal and the sudden shock of violence and it's a tribute to her art that we're on the edge of our seats even though we know how it all turns out.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 6, 2016
Zero Dark Thirty is a magnificent movie, if we ignore the moral ambiguities. But can we?
April 6, 2016
The movie stays clear of jingoistic grandstanding or chest-beating. But the people who've made it have every reason to crow; this is by a mile one of the very best movies of the year.
April 28, 2015
Hell of a thing to be on the edge of your seat when everybody in the world already knows the ending.
September 8, 2013
The film, much like it's heroine played by Jessica Chastain (The Help), is steely-resolved with eyes only for the task at hand.
July 13, 2013
Even without getting a Hollywood makeover, the story has inherent drama, suspense, and thrills, which Bigelow lets arise naturally.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 23, 2013
A historical timeline, a pulsating thriller, a moving character study and a true-life violent revenge story, all in one, told in a sweating, oppressive, strangling fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 13, 2013
If you like World War II films, you'll enjoy this.
June 6, 2013
Zero Dark Thirty is truly one of the best films of 2012. In my list, it is the best...
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 28, 2013
"Zero Dark Thirty" shows guts in taking on loaded subject matter and filmmaking confidence and skill in not telling us how we should feel about it.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
May 13, 2013
It provides a much needed catharsis for what was done to nearly 3,000 innocent Americans at the behest of a mass-murdering religious zealot.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 27, 2013
...a somber, black-winged benediction for what we might count as a lost decade.
Full Review | Original Score: 92/100
April 23, 2013
Unsettling and unforgettable...challenges the justifications of war's ugly atrocities, without resorting to jingoistic platitudes.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 14, 2013
a brilliant high tech treatment of the subject and the classified nature of the disclosures
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 8, 2013
A film of infectious urgency, questionable accuracy, murky morality and undeniable emotional and intellectual power
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 14