Zero Dark Thirty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zero Dark Thirty Reviews

Page 1 of 14
April 6, 2016
It's one of the hammiest films I've seen in recent memory, full of those big phony "moments" when the whole room stops so someone can say his or her big line and get a big contrived reaction.
December 22, 2012
With a protagonist you lack the desire to root for and subject matter that's been shoved down our throats in the 11 years since 9/11, This is one of the only films this year where battling heavy eyelids is more exciting than the film itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
January 11, 2013
This isn't a bad movie, it's just too easy. This is a movie for people who want to eat their fish without having to gut it first.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 11, 2013
I was pretty upset that Bigelow got snubbed by the Academy.... until I actually SAW the film. It felt like a really good TV movie, but Jessica Chastain's phony and forced performance drags it down.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 10, 2013
Bigelow isn't trying to entertain the audience, but I'm not sure what she wants us to take from the film as the end credits start.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
December 18, 2012
There's an emotional detachment to the film that undercuts its potency. Zero Dark Thirty is more technically proficient than emotionally involving.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 18, 2012
A clinical, single-minded revenge film that prioritizes technique over morality in the war on terrorism.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 14, 2013
After the lengthy torture scenes, procedural repetition takes over until the murkily-filmed Seal Team 6 raid. But Jessica Chastain is quite convincing as a CIA operative dedicated to her job.
March 14, 2013
Rotten Tomatoes notes that I agree with Tomatometer critics 80 percent of the time, but this is one of those times I have to part ways with them.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 11, 2013
While "Zero Dark Thirty" may offer political and moral arguing points aplenty, as well as vicarious thrills,as a film it's simply too much of a passable thing.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 13, 2016
As polished as a gun barrel, and about as complicated.
February 9, 2013
The second half of the film IS the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 3, 2013
By most cinematic measures, Zero Dark Thirty is one of the best-made films of 2012. It also probably shouldn't exist. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 29, 2016
...a rather disappointing misfire from an otherwise above-average filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 23, 2012
The decision one has to make is whether it's worth sitting through the first two hours, that provide a fine antidote for insomnia, to see the final 37 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 11, 2013
Bigelow has hamstrung herself by not committing to a viewpoint. This is a by the numbers, cold, emotionally inert, just the "facts" procedural drama that is just barely a step above an episode of Law & Order.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 19, 2013
Indulges Cheneyian fantasies complete with the bad-movie scene of the prisoner's defiance: "You're just a garbage man in the corporation," shouts the Arab who needs a lesson in manners from the Ph.D. (in torture?) who is racking him.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 14, 2012
By showing scenes of torture without taking any kind of moral (as opposed to tactical) stand on what we are seeing, Bigelow has made an amoral movie -- which is, I would argue, an unconscionable approach to this material.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 19, 2012
Movies must move, and this one just lies there like a stack of paper from a classified government filing cabinet.
January 24, 2013
A silly, at times despicable film that never remotely deserved an Oscar nomination. Compared with this, Team America: World Police was a think piece.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 14