Zero Dark Thirty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zero Dark Thirty Reviews

Page 2 of 375
March 20, 2016
Another great film by Bigelow, and Jessica Chastain vaults herself into the top tier of actresses. The final 30 minutes is some of the most suspenseful stuff around, but the leadup to the climax can be difficult to follow.
March 19, 2016
Watchable, not brilliant.
March 18, 2016
Great Movie. Very tense in the last 30 minutes. Exceptional acting performance from Jessica Chastain.
½ March 15, 2016
Zero Dark Thirty is directed by Kathryn Bigelow, and it stars Jessica Chastain, Jason Clarke, Kyle Chandler, and Mark Strong in a thriller film about the search for Bin Laden in many years until it finally lead to his defeat. When director Kathryn Bigelow and writer Mark Boal created this film, I remember being excited for the first time, and loved it when I first saw it, even if it wasn't what I expected of it. Since I reviewed The Hurt Locker, which was better than I remembered it, I figured that I should watch this again to see if the opinion is the same, or if it's very overrated, but since you already saw the score that I got, you already know what I thought of it. This was the first film that I've seen of Jessica Chastain, and she was fantastic in it, and so is Jason Clarke, whom I also never seen until now. The plot is really good and it takes advantage of its long running time with great dialogue from Mark Boal's script. The characters are good, even though I would've like to know more about the characters as I barely know anything about them besides of their optimism to get Osama Bin Laden. There are a lot of well known cast members in here, and they all give a great performance here. The movie does a good job of portraying how tired and irritating it is that they can't find the guy until many years later when they found them. When it gets to the last 20 minutes of it, the movie gets really tense, it's smart of what the soldiers have to do, and the action is realistically tense to watch. Even though Zero Dark Thirty has more problems that I come up with than The Hurt Locker, I enjoyed it just as much as that and I would love to see another film from the same director and same writer.
March 14, 2016
I LOVED this movie...! My first Kathryn Bigelow movie...! I haven't seen The Hurt Locker, but HAVE heard how great it is, and I DO have Point Break, but I haven't watched it yet...! The last 30 minutes ALONE are WELL WORTH the price of admission...! Everything leading up to it, I'll say it's up to YOU to decide...!
March 11, 2016
Fascinating in many ways. Horrid and depressing as well, but nevertheless interesting with a tough lady in the lead.
March 9, 2016
Llena de suspenso, tecnicamente impecable y una increible actuacion de Jessica Chastain llevan a este filme con tematica poco interesante y repetitiva a una experiencia muy disfrutable, el ritmo es extremo disparejo pero se compensa.
½ March 8, 2016
Understandably, a film documenting several years will pace slowly. This film is a prime example that even films that are shoved further into the realm of complete realism don't necessarily make an amazing movie.
February 22, 2016
An Emotional Roller Coaster Ride!

Originally Written on May 1, 2014--
"Zero Dark Thirty" is a damn fine film. It very much deserves all of the accolades that it has been praised for. Jessica Chastain in particular gives an incredibly powerful performance as Maya, the lead CIA investigator charged with the impossible: finding Osama bin Laden, the criminal mastermind behind 9/11 and many other cowardly terrorist attacks against the U.S., and bringing him to justice. For almost ten years, Maya searches for a needle in an incredibly frustrating haystack with little to no success. But when she finally makes a major discovery that turns out to be the game changer she's been searching for, a change in the administration may take it all away. An incredible film!
February 21, 2016
A pretty damn good film chronicling the 11 year man hunt for Osama Bin Laden.
I was going to go a half star lower because something was a little off for me, but Jessica Chastain was absolutely fantastic as the CIA agent heading the search for Osama Bin Laden.
She was tough, precise, and worked extremely hard at her craft as her performance was very believable.
I loved how the movie built and built but I feel due to the long time frame it's impossible to include all the things you should. The movie skipped a lot of years which really had to be done to fit in the movie.

I am not a big fan of these types of films, but the acting was pretty damn good here and it really carried the movie. It felt like a real operation I was watching, and there were good moments. I thought it would be a little bit more intense, however it did have its moments.
A solid film, on a tense subject, built on the foundation of solid acting.
When you know how a movie is going to end, it better be damn good.
This despite its flaws was damn good.
½ February 1, 2016
A sufferance to watch; chickflick
½ January 29, 2016
Tedious and drawn out, but it picks up at the end with some high profile actors and good suspense.
½ January 27, 2016
I wasn't a huge fan of 'The Hurt Locker', I remember thinking it was cliched nonsense that had been hugely overrated. This is a much better and grown up film albeit not startingly original (for vast swathes of it's running time it's basically 'Homeland' the movie). Talking of that running time, it's pretty chunky and I was surprised how quickly the film passes which goes to prove I was intrigued. I liked it, certainly worth the 3 hours of your time even if at times (just like 'Homeland') it's very unbelievable.
January 25, 2016
Neither condemning nor condoning, Kathryn Bigelow captures again the real, vulnerable, and emotional elements with compassion. While I could do without torture scenes, it would have been a whole lot less real of a movie without it, and this was a whole lot more of a movie than Argo. Chastain is Oscar-worthy in her performance.
½ January 22, 2016
Compacting An Array Of Events Over 12-Years Down To 160 Minutes Takes Some Sharp Editing & Story-Cutting, But It's Done Quite Effectively. There Is A Fair Bit Of Jargon & An Expectant Responsibility By The Viewer To Just Know A Lot About Pivotal Plot Points, Such As Terror Attack Times, Places, Political Instabilities, Misinformation Tensions, Wikileaks Etc...But To Fit It All In, Under 2-Hrs & Still Allow For Thar Final Acr Of Storming The Compound Is Done With Great Finesse. Even If It Does Skip Through It All Quickly At Times. It Was After All One Of The USA's Infamous Cat, No, Bald Eagle & Mouse Affairs. You Gotta Give Em Credit For Finally Gettin' Their Villan. What A High-Risk Feat It Was.
½ January 20, 2016
If it's politically or socially acceptable yet to say so, this movie was overhyped. At times it gets really slow, and the little subplots introduced to distract us are bland.
January 11, 2016
Very good in every way.
January 9, 2016
An awful ahistorical Tom Clancy-ish piece of torture porn.
December 31, 2015
Director Kathryn Bigelow once again successfully caught the critics' attention with another movie about Middle East, and this time about the hunting of most wanted criminal : Osama Bin Laden.. As same as the first movie who successfully raised Jeremy Renner's popularity, Jessica Chastain got the attention for playing a strong willed woman to caught the most wanted criminal on earth.. Golden Globe and some other awards are the mark of her success for playing the character Maya..
Page 2 of 375