Zero Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zero Day Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 5, 2003
Ben Coccio lets the mostly banal Zero Day videos go on much too long. And in having the characters speechify about the futility of postmortems on their motivation, he hits the audience over the head with the proverbial hammer.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 4, 2003
As a promised 'wake-up call,' it's disturbingly sleep-inducing.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 28, 2004
My reaction to Zero Day closely mirrored my reaction to Gus Van Sant's Elephant. Neither film tries to exploit tragedy, but I'm not sure either succeeds in telling us much we don't already know.
Read More | Original Score: C+
March 5, 2004
Zero Day simply proves that feel-bad films are no more instructive than feel-good films.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 28, 2003
Exactly the kind of broad, simple-minded exploration of the root causes of violence that its protagonists purport to despise.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
September 9, 2003
The acting is fine, as is tape-to-film transfer. But television news and reality TV are more compelling.
September 10, 2003
There's a thin line between purposefully banal and simply banal, and Ben Coccio's debut feature too often crosses it.
October 8, 2003
I never found what the Coccio Brothers were saying through their surrogates, Andre and Cal, either convincing or compelling.
January 9, 2004
The 'found' tapes produce a lurid, 'Blair Witch'-like intimacy, though the depiction of the shooting itself ... crosses over into exploitation.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 9, 2004
The film seems to lose its way about midway through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 22, 2004
A pointless and tiresome exercise.
Read More | Original Score: D
May 21, 2004
Murky.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 9, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 14, 2004
Gripping, compelling work. It feels pulled from real life, and real life is the most frightening thing there is.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 1, 2005
probably the most realistic look at how far teen angst can really go, along with the reasons why it exists in the first place
| Original Score: 4/5
September 6, 2003
Chilling... The power of Zero Day is its banality.
September 18, 2003
[The ending is] a powerhouse sequence that easily relies as much as our collective conscience of real-life tragedy as the talents of the filmmaker, but that doesn't keep it from being one of the most arresting scenes this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 67/100
November 23, 2003
Interestingly enough, it is in letting us get to know the assailants, not the victims, that Coccio makes us grieve.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 24, 2003
Plaudits to Ben Coccio and his young stars for a job well done
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 2, 2003
Zero Day may not explain the reason such crimes are committed but it successfully defines evil as willful cruelty compounded by enormous self-absorption.
Page 1 of 3