Zero Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zero Day Reviews

May 28, 2004
My reaction to Zero Day closely mirrored my reaction to Gus Van Sant's Elephant. Neither film tries to exploit tragedy, but I'm not sure either succeeds in telling us much we don't already know.
Read More | Original Score: C+
May 21, 2004
Murky.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 22, 2004
A pointless and tiresome exercise.
Read More | Original Score: D
January 22, 2004
Mr. Coccio's conclusions -- or lack thereof -- may seem a little pat at times, but as a pseudo-case study of adolescent ego and aimless nihilism channeled into a fit of violence, it's like a bucket of ice water in the face.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 9, 2004
Small, often-riveting movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
December 5, 2003
Insidious and haunting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 5, 2003
There are images in Zero Day that linger and gnaw.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 4, 2003
As a promised 'wake-up call,' it's disturbingly sleep-inducing.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 24, 2003
Will chill you to your core.
October 24, 2003
Can't help but resonate with a ripped- from-the- headlines topicality.
October 8, 2003
I never found what the Coccio Brothers were saying through their surrogates, Andre and Cal, either convincing or compelling.
September 10, 2003
There's a thin line between purposefully banal and simply banal, and Ben Coccio's debut feature too often crosses it.
September 5, 2003
Ben Coccio lets the mostly banal Zero Day videos go on much too long. And in having the characters speechify about the futility of postmortems on their motivation, he hits the audience over the head with the proverbial hammer.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 3, 2003
What gives the movie its power is that even the most innocuous scenes in the boys' lives are shadowed by dread.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 3, 2003
It has a power and immediacy that makes it much more worthwhile than Home Room.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 2, 2003
Zero Day may not explain the reason such crimes are committed but it successfully defines evil as willful cruelty compounded by enormous self-absorption.