Zoo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zoo Reviews

Page 1 of 21
½ October 21, 2014
If I could allot negative stars to this abomination, I would do so without a moment's hesitation.
½ July 10, 2014
Zoo is bizarre, disturbing, and yet magical in the way it presents itself. However, it sometimes gets too artistic for it's own sake, and as a result the narrative can be lost under the piles of stunning cinematography.
½ April 20, 2014
"Nobody gets me like you do Mister Ed, you're such a good listener." Fantastic direction of a rejected "Twilight Zone" story. Creepy and fascinating.
½ February 7, 2014
"Zoo" pulls off the seemingly impossible - it is a tasteful, stylish, fascinating, creative, thought provoking documentary (docudrama?) about a man who was killed having sex with a horse. It really is hard to describe the film. Some have faulted the film for humanizing zoophiles since much of it is narrated by colleagues of the dead man. The animal rescue folks and others provide a counter point to their narration, so I feel it was more a matter of not spoon feeding the audience how they "should" feel, but allow the audience to decide on their own.
May 26, 2013
its gross what they do and i dont know if i really want to watch it but ive heard really good things about this movie

there's somthing about it that just draws me in...
February 10, 2013
This is a disjointed mess of a movie. I'm not exactly sure what the hell I just saw
½ January 6, 2013
Creepy score but this doc stinks worse than manure.
January 5, 2013
Feels too much like an experimental short film stretched into a feature.
January 2, 2013
Odd subject, oddly presented.
July 3, 2012
Totally different than I thought, it focuses more on character study than it does on the actual case. However, there is a moment that might not make you feel comfortable.
½ April 18, 2012
Too much slow-mo but otherwise fascinating
April 10, 2012
unique documentary concerning the death of a man who was fucked by a horse
½ March 2, 2012
nah. this didnt work out so well.
1,5/5
½ December 9, 2011
IT TAKES A LOT TO BOTHER ME AND SHUT ME UP YET THIS DID IT. ITS LIKE A GODDAMNED CAR WRECK WHERE YOU GET TO SEE ALL THE GORE.
November 13, 2011
If you want to see a messed documentary, this is it. Was a hot ticket at Sundance.
October 7, 2011
An unsettling film about an even more unsettling topic which is presented evenly without sensationalism or judgement but that's partly the reason for it being as dull as it occasionally is
September 5, 2011
Disturbing. Especially the mini horse.
August 29, 2011
This is evidence that even the eeriest of topics can be documented into a balanced piece which tries to give a voice to all parties involved in the subject matter. I'm not condoning this behavior at all, but fortunately it was made with such quality, above average quality and care, that it deserves very high marks.

It's very well made documentary about an even more disturbing lifestyle... at least for those of us who are not into zoophilia, of course. Nevertheless, it's intended to cause an empathic reaction on the audience, although I can't say many people will feel any sympathy.

I know it's difficult, but place your prejudice about sexual behavior, sit back, watch and listen... that's all it takes and come back with a very uncomfortable topic of conversation at your next friendly gathering.
August 28, 2011
Beautifully shot, experimental documentary that charts the plights of a small town community of farmers, before and after one of their members (no pun intended) dies from internal bleeding after a jolly good rogering from his lover, a rather well-endowed horse. Surprisingly for a film that deals with such provocative subject-matter and frequently features real life dialogue like, "So what if i like to feel a Horse's nuts in my hands?" this is actually an incredibly sensitive little project that covers the story interestingly, ambitiously and at times, breathtakingly beautifully.
June 4, 2011
Ukot panee hevosia ja vice versa. Persehän viimeksi mainutussa variaatiossa repeää. Taas yksi hyvä esimerkki siitä että kannattaa olla joku joka sivoaa pornon yms. materiaalin veks kämpästäsi jos kuolet ennen aikaisesti.

Raflaavasta aiheestaan huolimatta melko vaisu ja "ymmärtävä" dokumentti eläimiinsekaantujista.
Page 1 of 21