3rd Rock from the Sun (1996 - 2001)

3rd Rock from the Sun

Avg Tomatometer


Avg Audience Score

Series Info

Sitcom about aliens who look like earthlings (but can't quite get the hang of acting like them), and who observe human society from their vantage point of Rutherford, Ohio. The multi-Emmy-winning show landed on NBC's schedule on Jan. 9, 1996, and stayed for five years.

3rd Rock from the Sun Photos


No Tomatometer score yet...

2000, NBC, 20 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1999, NBC, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1998, NBC, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1997, NBC, 27 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1996, NBC, 26 episodes

Critics Consensus: A likable cast and charming concept couldn't save 3rd Rock from the Sun from the critics, but it would later prove to be more than a Mork and Mindy knockoff.

1996, NBC, 20 episodes


John Lithgow
as Dick Solomon
Jane Curtin
as Dr. Mary Albright
French Stewart
as Harry Solomon
Kristen Johnston
as Sally Solomon
Joseph Gordon-Levitt
as Tommy Solomon
Jan Hooks
as Vicki Dubcek
Wayne Knight
as Officer Don
Larisa Oleynik
as Alissa Strudwick
Ron West
as Dr. Strudwick
Nicolas Coster
as Chancellor Stevens
Jim Jansen
as Mr. Gindek
Kim Johnston Ulrich
as Dorothy Strudwick
William Shatner
as Stone Phillips (Big Giant Head)
William Mesnik
as Maitre D'
Sara Ballantine
as Mrs. Wheeler
Dave Allen
as Arthur
John Bennett Perry
as Hamilton Bell
John Valdetero
as Giganticus
Tim Haldeman
as Mr. Kraft
Matt McKenzie
as Mr. Wheeler
Chip Chinery
as Janitor
Ana Gasteyer
as Dr. Brand
as Janice
Peter Jurasik
as Principal Greschner
Nancy Yee
as Mrs. DeGuzman
Diane Delano
as Lorraine
Drew Wicks
as Delivery Guy
John Huoy
as Salesman
John Aylward
as Chancellor
Shane Powers
as Video Pirate
Kevin Ruf
as TV Reporter No. 2
Lane Davies
as Chancellor
David Youse
as Stage Manager
Charles Rocket
as Gary Hemminger
Harry Groener
as Dr. Powell
Andrea Speyer
as Claire Volk
Mimi Cozzens
as Hamilton
Jeff Asch
as Client No. 1
Meagen Fay
as Annabet
Scott Cervine
as Magician
Steve Paymer
as Spurndle
Sean Gunn
as Attendant
David Brisbin
as Prof. Lipton
Stan Cahill
as Michael
Shad Hart
as Bucky
Doug Tobin
as Himself
Terry Roads
as Salesman
Bob Bancroft
as Father Matthew
Alan Cumming
as Angus `The Hole' McDuff
Marc Goldsmith
as Bartender
Doug Maida
as Waiter
Michael Dempsey
as Security Guard
Aaron Lustig
as Dr. Severson
Dennis Cockrum
as Col. Pinkham
Pat Crawford Brown
as Mrs. Larson
Ron Fassler
as Auctioneer
John Houy
as Stage Manager
Bill Chott
as Cable Guy
Larry Cox
as Taylor
Richard B. Livingston
as Dr. Hallstrom
David A. Kimball
as Vice President
Jamie Kaler
as Delivery Man
Trisha Simmons
as TV Reporter No. 1
Janet Carroll
as Mrs. Runquist
Madison Mason
as Mr. Wallencott
Steven Pierce
as Executive
Ray Baker
as Demarmel
Louan Gideon
as Saleswoman
Jerry Hauck
as Franikie
Phil Reeves
as Mr. Mora
Rock Reiser
as Spectator
Jane Morris
as Mrs. Goltra
Jeff Lewis
as Young Man
Brian Dunkleman
as Pizza Guy
Ashlyn Rose
as Kid No. 1
Michelle N. Johnson
as Receptionist
Andrea C. Robinson
as Mrs. Wallencott
Jim Hanna
as Tourist No. 1
Maggie Lacey
as Christina
Bonita Friedericy
as Tourist No. 2
Larry Dorf
as Bartender
Rick Cramer
as Stenstrom
Tom Kiesche
as Large Man
John Platt
as Vendor
Irene White
as Tourist No. 3
David Chisum
as Caswell
Larry Udy
as Bailiff
Anthony Holiday
as Bodyguard
Regan Burns
as Security Guard
Virginia McMath
as Customer No. 2
Show More Cast

Series Details

TV Network: NBC
Premiere Date: Jan 9, 1996
Genre: Comedy
Executive Producers: Mike Schiff, Terry Turner, Tom Werner, Marcy Carsey, Caryn Mandabach, Bonnie Turner, Bill Martin
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews