Helix: Season 1 Reviews

January 15, 2014
Helix is initially involving, but it gradually loses energy as we realize we have a long slog ahead before all the secrets are revealed and the plot resolved.
January 13, 2014
Billy Campbell anchors the cast admirably as Dr. Alan Farragut... Mr. Campbell is one of the busiest actors around... An abundance of work can sometimes lead to performances that feel phoned in, but not here.
January 10, 2014
Indeed, to the degree that it pulls out the old tropes and sends us into the expected dark corridors or air ducts, it is just that much more suspenseful precisely because we've been there before.
January 10, 2014
The plot creaks, but for the most part, Helix is sufficiently scary.
January 10, 2014
You like this kind of thing or you don't, and I don't, particularly, but Helix is very involving, giving us characters to care about even in the midst of so much necessary setup.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 10, 2014
I'm ready to give Helix plenty of time and hope it doesn't falter.
January 10, 2014
There's definitely some fraying at the edges along with all of those odd fluids oozing from various orifices of the afflicted.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 10, 2014
There's something decidedly intriguing and exciting about Helix, particularly the deeper it gets into its run.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 9, 2014
There's nothing all that original about Helix, but it works well enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 9, 2014
It's not too geeky a story, so someone who just likes suspense drama can follow it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 8, 2014
It's a delicate balancing act, but the premiere dangles enough DNA strands for a discerning audience to want to see where they might lead.