A to Z: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A to Z: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 3, 2014
If Andrew and Zelda would just relax and let us get to know them better, we might be more willing to start a relationship with them.
October 3, 2014
What happens at eight months, three weeks, five days and one hour? My guess is cancellation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
October 2, 2014
With countless other sitcoms about "zany" couples' meet-cutes, A to Z unfortunately fails to stand apart from the crowd.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 17, 2014
As their meet-cute unfolds in the most grating way possible, the false notes add up into a symphony of nonsense.
October 2, 2014
Both Feldman and Milioti are appealing, but the show doesn't feel particularly fresh, and there's probably one gimmick too many, from the voiceover narration to the prescribed length of the courtship to the alphabetic episodic themes.
September 26, 2014
With 24 episodes themed to letters in the alphabet, the gimmickry overtakes any sweetness. And the humor is more crass than it needs to be.
August 21, 2014
Mimicking a long line of rom-com predecessors, NBC's A to Z adds almost nothing new to the genre, and features cookie-cutter characters that harp on old "love and destiny" tropes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 15, 2014
The writing for A to Z gets an F.
October 1, 2014
A to Z [is] an all-too cutesy sitcom that appears to be created by writers who have very limited experience on the dating scene. You can now get back to missing the golden days of NBC's Thursday night comedy block.
August 27, 2014
Together, [the stars] spell "lack of chemistry." Alphabet this show won't last long.
October 2, 2014
After just one episode, Andrew and Zelda's romance already feels played out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 2, 2014
Milioti and Feldman are adorable, but I'm going to need to care about them a lot more if I stick with this all the way to Z.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 3, 2014
The entire effort is too icky-cute by half, so much so that if you don't leave tonight's premiere wanting to kill the main characters, it's only because of Milioti's and Feldman's efforts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 19, 2014
A to Z is also a prime example of the sort of perfectly acceptable yet thoroughly mediocre fall TV show that's all too easy to ignore.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 23, 2014
It's just not a series, although the leads are adorable.
October 2, 2014
A to Z quickly puts you to sleep with its far-fetched Hallmark-style romance.
October 3, 2014
I thoroughly loved this pilot and saw so much potential for what it could become as we see Andrew and Zelda progress in their relationship. It has a lot of heart and a lot of comedy that can, and should, be enjoyed by all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
October 2, 2014
One of the reasons it stands alone is the new series plans to incorporate lots of pop culture into the episodes.
October 3, 2014
A to Z comes off as more rom than com, positioning the show as a boon to anyone in search of a new adorable couple to root for on television.
September 18, 2014
The leads are cute in a sweet, but routine show that isn't anything special. I'd give it a second date to see where it is going, but the pilot just gets a grade of B minus.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 3