Ally McBeal: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 13, 2019
What woman can't relate to this scenario? Well, none, actually.
March 13, 2019
Ally's outer strength and inner turmoil may not be politically correct but they are unerringly accurate.
March 13, 2019
With the assonance of its name matched only by the asininity of the rest of it, Ally McBeal exudes a kind of obscene fluffiness.
March 13, 2019
Whimsical and light, "Ally McBeal" offers television that is both easily accessible and realistically compelling.
Full Review
March 13, 2019
A risky series that parades many debates on things like fetishes or incongruency in religion all while correctly balancing a mixture of reality and fiction. [Full review in Spanish]
March 13, 2019
It's not that the show feels dated -- that original snap is still there -- it's just that TV's come a long way, baby.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 13, 2019
Some scenes are melodramatic, and the writing is sometimes weak and corny. But despite these flaws, its sassy and fresh story line shows potential.
March 13, 2019
Ally McBeal has a spark of hope in her that you just can't turn your back on... How can one not root for someone like that, annoying flaws aside?
March 12, 2019
It's easy to like characters who share our flaws, because if they're sexy, it lets us believe maybe our hang-ups are sexy too. But with her limp hair and bad suits... Ally has problems worth bonding with.
March 12, 2019
I can't help it. I just hate Ally McBeal with a pure vengeance. Not the series - I have great affection for Richard Fish, Renee, Elaine et al... The problem with Ally is that she's a plastic void at the middle of a funny series.
March 12, 2019
Solos and showstoppers alike give us access to characters' inner monologues during moments where outsized emotions warrant an excess of expression. Ally McBeal's first episode feels designed to evoke that same feeling.
March 12, 2019
Fortunately, angst-ridden Ally McBeal, an adult, female Charlie Brown, is a very appealing character and Calista Flockhart's electrifying performance is at least 50 percent of the reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 12, 2019
I will say that I enjoyed it. For all the ribbing she got... I enjoyed the performance of Calista Flockhart.
March 12, 2019
It was pretty imaginative for its time. The narrative techniques were original, and they were surprising. Now we're accustomed to fantasy sequences, song interludes, viral videos... But back then, these flourishes still seemed relatively fresh on TV.
March 12, 2019
Ally lives, needless to say, in a universe largely peopled by characters who do and say and think strange things. Mr. Kelley is good at this sort of thing.
March 12, 2019
This show uses its lead character's profound self awareness to explore the realities of every day life -- work and love, mostly -- with humor and poignancy.
March 12, 2019
I was charmed by ''Ally McBeal'' at first, and I still like it: the bits of interior monologue, the way the dialogue accommodates changes in mood and motive, the varied pacing of scenes and (for now at least) the dancing baby...
March 12, 2019
To say that the cast is charming is an understatement. The kind of chemistry involved getting the right personalities into a cast is akin to alchemy, but Ally McBeal has found a successful formula.
April 17, 2018
Ally McBeal... gives a twist to television's standard realism.
April 17, 2018
Ally McBeal is still a surprisingly good show, particularly in its first and second seasons.
Page 1 of 2