Altered Carbon: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Altered Carbon: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 12, 2018
Despite building and exploring its world, it can't help but feel formulaic and devoid of any original ideas - and the lack of personality emanating from the majority of the characters doesn't particularly help either.
November 6, 2018
Altered Carbon shines a technicolor male gaze on the bruised and mutilated bodies of young women.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.81/5
October 10, 2018
It's an admirable attempt from Netflix to land another blockbuster series. However, there's little reason to return to this world at the end of the season.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 7, 2018
This is something new, I don't really feel like I've seen something like this on TV or streaming.
August 27, 2018
It stumbles from scene to scene unable to bring together its various parts, and has nothing of value to say.
August 26, 2018
A bold, futuristic, slightly sexually-charged and ambitious show -- one of the most ambitious ones in Netflix's history of creating original programming.
July 8, 2018
The series works, entertains, has enough striking elements and a balanced rhythm between action, dialogues, powerful visual scenes and some background.
June 21, 2018
Things are wrapped up pretty neatly in the weeks after the brothel crash, but Altered Carbon lives in such a bonkers setting that even the neatest of threads are at least thought-provoking.
June 11, 2018
Altered Carbon demands your attention to keep up with its breakneck pace and plot machinations.
June 6, 2018
What first seemed like a mess was simply too much plot doled out in a less-than clear manner. By the end... it is a fairly satisfying end...
May 16, 2018
I honestly cannot remember the last time I saw a show that blindsided me so much, turning me from hater into lover in an instant.
April 11, 2018
Cyberpunk fans will love it, book fans will accept it, and the world at large may end up forgetting it.
March 27, 2018
Well worth checking out, even if you're not a big sci-fi fan.
March 7, 2018
I can't pretend to have followed every moment of Altered Carbon, but I can say I was hooked to the very end. This vision of a dystopian future is same-same but different, and it's well worth a visit.
March 7, 2018
Kinnaman grounds the show with his central performance.
March 2, 2018
Make no mistake: Altered Carbon is lurid trash - but it's often entertainingly lurid trash.
February 20, 2018
This one is aiming hard at cult status and I'm 100 per cent certain it will get there. I'm thinking this one will be quite a small cult, though, relatively speaking.
February 14, 2018
Part of the thrill of "Altered Carbon," the new sci-fi series from Netflix, is figuring out the rules of the strange future universe we've been dropped into.
February 13, 2018
Aesthetics and questionable casting decisions aside, Altered carbon, whilst having some very cool ideas, is more or less a who-dun-it crime story. All that well trodden ground can feel a little disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 12, 2018
It's a good time for sci-fi/action fans, but maybe in a future season it could resurrect itself as something a little more substantial.
Page 1 of 5