American Crime: Season 2 Reviews

March 10, 2016
American Crime wasn't fun, and it wasn't perfect, either, but it was richly rewarding all the same. I won't easily forget it, and I don't want to, either.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 7, 2016
American Crime excels even when -- especially when -- it's dark and hard to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 7, 2016
It carries a stronger sense of artful engagement with the viewer, through both direction and tone.
January 7, 2016
It is, to use a friend's formulation, a show that teaches you how to watch it, and by the harrowing finale - a portrait of mostly broken but infrequently redeemed lives - I was entranced by it.
January 6, 2016
John Ridley's American Crime is one of television's most underrated shows, and one of its most consistently engaging on an artistic level.
January 6, 2016
American Crime will again remind viewers that there is no justice. There is no way to win... Whether or not you believe that is up to you, but I'd be hard-pressed to see how exemplifying the worst of society is meant to better it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 6, 2016
It is as good as anything created for premium cable in recent years - finely written, exquisitely made and it has the serious heft of sober sociological analysis. As drama, it is formidably gripping.
January 6, 2016
Crime's provocation is needlessly excessive, but the show manages to feel vital all the same.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 6, 2016
Combined with Ridley's unblinkingly intimate cinematic style... this is uncomfortable television about uncomfortable topics. And we could use more of it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 6, 2016
You're left with an unsettling feeling that even when the truth does surface the story won't be tied up with a neat little bow as it would be in so many other crime dramas on television.