American Crime: Season 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 31
December 26, 2017
As questions and arguments about equality and individual rights in America have become more complex and heated over the last few years, so too has each installment of John Ridley's Emmy-winning anthology series, American Crime.
April 24, 2017
And, for all its wrenching subject matter, American Crime doesn't feel like homework. (It's glum, too, but watchably so.)
March 23, 2017
It's thoughtful, disturbing, insightful drama that will leave you as wrung out as a sopping dishrag hung out to dry.
March 13, 2017
I'm grateful that a series like this one exists in the first place. That it's so intelligently written and shot and thoughtfully acted is a marvelous bonus.
March 13, 2017
American Crime may not leave you with much to interpret, but it always offers plenty to talk about.
March 13, 2017
American Crime may be putting forth its best season yet with season 3, so if you were a fan of the first two seasons, you will not be disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 26, 2017
While these stories might not be ripped from the headlines, the subject matter and performances feel all too real.
December 26, 2017
This season is as big a step up over season two as season two was over season one. It's grandly ambitious and socially conscious in a way that broadcast network TV dramas rarely are anymore.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 26, 2017
While certainly exposing the plight of undocumented workers, the drug epidemic among rural teens, and the realities the sex trade, this season seems to be more about the ways in which we, as a society, have forced people to be trapped.
March 13, 2017
Sandra Oh, Cherry Jones and Janel Moloney are also part of the drama, definitely worth a spot on your Sunday night.
March 13, 2017
The degree to which you can be moved and involved by American Crime depends on the degree to which the importance of its message and the fine performances of its stars outweigh the show's often crushing heaviness.
March 13, 2017
Coming at this moment in our roiling political discourse, it might just be the most daring drama of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 13, 2017
This season couldn't be more timely, but unlike certain crowd-baiting slogans still ringing in our ears, "American Crime," taken as a whole, offers another: "There but for the grace of God go I."
March 13, 2017
This third season is far and away the series' most ambitious in terms of its execution and scope, in that it takes on human trafficking and reveals the ways that our economy relies on and perpetuates it.
March 13, 2017
American Crime returns ... following up on its excellent second season with an arguably even better tale -- or rather, series of interlocking tales -- that offer a probing look at societal scabs we'd rather ignore.
March 10, 2017
It shows you the profound repercussions in the smallest of gestures, from the food we buy to the luxuries we desire; it has the power to make you reconsider your worldview.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 10, 2017
Creator John Ridley deftly weaves intimate stories of people struggling with issues that feel all too real.
March 10, 2017
You have to admire the ability of Mr. Ridley and his actors to wrap the earnestness in a compelling package.
March 10, 2017
This anthology series may be the best dramatic show on broadcast television these days, daring as it does to work with both nuance and timely topicality.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 10, 2017
What you're left with is a wholly original series, one that yet again heads off in unexpected directions. It's riveting, it's important, and it demands to be seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 31