American Crime: Season 3 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Crime: Season 3 Reviews

December 26, 2017
As questions and arguments about equality and individual rights in America have become more complex and heated over the last few years, so too has each installment of John Ridley's Emmy-winning anthology series, American Crime.
April 24, 2017
And, for all its wrenching subject matter, American Crime doesn't feel like homework. (It's glum, too, but watchably so.)
March 23, 2017
It's thoughtful, disturbing, insightful drama that will leave you as wrung out as a sopping dishrag hung out to dry.
March 13, 2017
I'm grateful that a series like this one exists in the first place. That it's so intelligently written and shot and thoughtfully acted is a marvelous bonus.
March 13, 2017
American Crime may not leave you with much to interpret, but it always offers plenty to talk about.
March 13, 2017
American Crime may be putting forth its best season yet with season 3, so if you were a fan of the first two seasons, you will not be disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 13, 2017
This season couldn't be more timely, but unlike certain crowd-baiting slogans still ringing in our ears, "American Crime," taken as a whole, offers another: "There but for the grace of God go I."
March 13, 2017
This third season is far and away the series' most ambitious in terms of its execution and scope, in that it takes on human trafficking and reveals the ways that our economy relies on and perpetuates it.
March 10, 2017
It shows you the profound repercussions in the smallest of gestures, from the food we buy to the luxuries we desire; it has the power to make you reconsider your worldview.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 10, 2017
You have to admire the ability of Mr. Ridley and his actors to wrap the earnestness in a compelling package.
March 10, 2017
This anthology series may be the best dramatic show on broadcast television these days, daring as it does to work with both nuance and timely topicality.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 10, 2017
What you're left with is a wholly original series, one that yet again heads off in unexpected directions. It's riveting, it's important, and it demands to be seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 10, 2017
It's that rare show that strides into difficult and even morose subject matter without flinching or dressing it up. It favors empathy over momentum and ambiguity over conclusion.
March 10, 2017
This season is the starkest and grimmest yet with its depictions of migrant worker and teen girl trafficking.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 10, 2017
The latest American Crime doesn't initially feel as strong dramatically as two prior editions, but the central premise -- and the show's underlying approach to explore an issue, sympathetically... couldn't be timelier.
March 9, 2017
American Crime manages to sidestep well-worn arguments about immigration and other hot-button topics with a set of compelling, interlocking stories that challenge viewers to see in new ways the people we so often manage not to see at all.
March 9, 2017
It feels like one story is beginning as another ends, which would be a slightly new trick for American Crime, and one more reason fans would have to stick around.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
March 9, 2017
Another brilliant, powerful, moving season of one of TV's best.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
March 8, 2017
Each character, each interpersonal relationship is exquisitely nuanced, realistically detailed and fully unpredictable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 8, 2017
I was thoroughly invested, and deeply impressed once again by show creator John Ridley's ambition. Gradually, the plots begin to connect more clearly, and we begin to see how all the social problems that Ridley has set loose are linked.