American Horror Story: Hotel Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 26, 2018
This season was certainly the only season... to not drop off any storyline or have any plot holes through the season which was a welcome surprise, and there were some great characters.
June 18, 2018
American Horror Story fans will no doubt enjoy Hotel, which may turn out to be the most elaborate and entertaining season yet.
August 11, 2017
It's fitting that American Horror Story: Hotel initiates a pop star's transition from music to television with a scene that's essentially a hybrid of the two.
May 8, 2017
Ryan Murphy and company have set the stage for a monstrous fifth season that's boasting its ability to be unapologetic from sex to the drugs and violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 23, 2015
The third episode of the season, "Mommy," brings along another history-filled installment - though when it's the introduction of Angela Bassett's fierce Ramona, who may be the one to finally match the Countess, it's welcome.
October 16, 2015
To say that Gaga is the best thing going for Hotel sounds like an insult but is a high compliment. Despite early shakiness, the rest of the show's gears are turning just as well as they always did.
October 12, 2015
I bailed out mid-way through last year's Freak Show - Jessica Lange's swan song in the series - but I have a feeling I'm in for the duration this time around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 9, 2015
Unlike last season's Freak Show, I'm interested to see where these characters come from and where they end up.
October 9, 2015
American Horror Story is cheap, poseur nihilism masquerading as risqué taboo flouting. It's a joke, one we've heard too many times and has been told far better elsewhere.
October 8, 2015
The result is something as beguiling as it is objectionable; it's the kind of show you can't watch and yet don't want to turn off.
October 8, 2015
More so than any other season, it seeks to entertain us with a speedball of ornately rendered sensationalism, then make us feel vaguely bad about it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 8, 2015
Though it had more gross-out moments than ever, the fifth premiere hinted at a return to the best parts of the first season.
October 8, 2015
For this audaciously designed anthology series, this is the most visually arresting and twisted one yet - and given the history of American Horror Story, that's both a compliment, and a warning.
October 8, 2015
It could be a nice place to visit, but you might not want to live there. For now, though, I'll be enjoying my stay, especially if this episode was any indication of what's in store for me during my stay.
October 8, 2015
It was, quite frankly, one of the sexiest, most uncomfortable, over-the-top and exhilarating moments on television in 2015. And at the center of it was one of the biggest pop stars in the world.
October 7, 2015
Series creators Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk are doing things here that are mostly not to my liking, but they're doing them with such commitment that the result deserves to be respected, for its audacity and its indifference to what you think of it.
October 7, 2015
In short, what's old is new again, a theme many hotels have used in their day. For Horror Story, heading into its fifth season, it sure feels due.
October 7, 2015
The overall result feels like a whacked-out speedball of sex, death, heartbreak, and longing that isn't just scary and entertaining - I found it to be the single best introductory episode of AHS since the original pilot from Murder House.
October 7, 2015
The findings are auspicious. AHS: Hotel more obviously resembles the first two, better seasons of American Horror Story than it does the latter, lesser two.
October 7, 2015
American Horror Story: Hotel is open for business. Watch and wonder as the body count escalates.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 2