American Horror Story: Hotel Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 25, 2018
The violence, all set that anodyne, pumping pop soundtrack, is unequivocally gross.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 16, 2018
American Horror Story: Hotel does not inspire interest. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 24, 2016
As ever, the set design is spot on and brilliantly atmospheric, but ultimately this feels too similar to other, better series to really stand out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 12, 2015
The beginning of Hotel is full of images and lines that, described plainly, sound like they should be interesting, or at least crazy enough to watch, but instead they simply frustrate the viewer.
October 9, 2015
I actually have a bunch of overall critiques for this franchise, but as not to overwhelm you, I'm just going to parcel them out per week until I give up on this show again and just drop it.
October 8, 2015
I am here to tell you that Ryan Murphy must be stopped.
October 8, 2015
Whether or not the show can follow up such a grand introduction with creative and substantive content is the lingering question, though perhaps a connected query is more suitable: Why do you watch American Horror Story -- for the camp or for quality?
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 7, 2015
Hotel" mostly seems to suffer from the takeover by Lady Gaga, whose very presence turns it into a big lurid music video (although one for Marilyn Manson maybe).
October 7, 2015
The series' loyal fan base may be inured to the gore and willing to trust that the producers will get some story lines moving, but the first episode will leave the unconverted unconvinced.
October 7, 2015
The new AHS is, alas, mostly an exercise in style. Its flimsy plot, at least this early in its game, is something left over from a bad Ross Macdonald novel.
October 7, 2015
One wonders if they're just pushing the envelope for the sake of it and not for any greater artistic purpose beyond out-grotesquing what's come before.
October 7, 2015
Executive producers/writers Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk have clearly confused gore with fear, and they're not the same. There's plenty of the former, and the later is, sadly, missing.
October 7, 2015
Ultimately, American Horror Story: Hotel does little more than establish a setting in its premiere episode.
October 7, 2015
There's only so much genre reinvention that two men can do.
October 7, 2015
If it falls short, that could be because the premiere feels more cruel than scary.
October 7, 2015
Disturbing us is the point, of course, but good horror stories go beyond grotesqueries and gore. American Horror Story: Hotel may do that, but I won't know; I don't plan to spend another night there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 7, 2015
AHS: Hotel has the subtlety and texture of Gaga's ill-considered meat dress. But it sure is a butcher shop.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 7, 2015
So once again, I'm confronted with an AHS season that appears to be more gross than engrossing.
October 7, 2015
Whereas the only actual nightmares a viewer might get from a weekly Hotel stay would be if one were foolish enough to try to divine an actual plot in any of this garish indulgence.
October 7, 2015
Hotel's introduction is a sprawling phantasmagoria of depravity and decadence, but it already risks being strangled by its own needlessly elaborate aesthetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 2