Arrested Development: Season 1 Reviews

May 10, 2018
Mitch Hurwitz's celebrated dysfunctional meta-sitcom left no witty wordplay unexploited or linguistic acrobatic unperformed.
May 10, 2018
For all its edge and originality, "Arrested Development" has echoes of some of the best television past.
January 31, 2018
Instead, in this imperfect world, Arrested Development has the time slot formerly occupied by Richter, and lovers of laugh-out-loud comedy have to hold their breaths once more that audiences will discover another gem of a show.
January 18, 2018
Based on the opener, it's a voyage well worth taking - and, for Bateman, it's an easy personal best.
September 22, 2017
David Cross is hilarious, and [Alia] Shawkat is a real find.
September 22, 2017
[Jeffrey Tambor] is gloriously funny in the part, and well matched by Ms. [Jessica] Walter, glittering with malice and self-absorption as his wife.
September 22, 2017
Heaven-sent for anyone who has longed for something, anything, a little outside the comedy norm.
September 22, 2017
Fox, of all networks, has the most impressive collection of new fall shows, and Arrested Development is at the top of the crop.
March 14, 2017
Smart, unruly, and very fast, Arrested is the ultimate TV series for our TiVo age.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 16, 2013
It's so good I'm going to shut up about it now - just make sure you tune in and get hooked.
August 15, 2013
The family relationships were clear and consistent, with just enough real emotion to keep all the zaniness grounded.
August 15, 2013
In a TV season littered with dysfunctional-family sitcoms, Arrested Development is the most dysfunctional of the bunch - and it's funnier than all the others combined.
August 15, 2013
All of a sudden, with this last new fall series offering -- hope having been beaten out of all of us -- we get one of the most hysterically ridiculous half hours on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 15, 2013
I don't know about you, but I'm not used to laughing out loud alone in front of the TV. Honestly, I was startled.
Full Review | Original Score: A