Arrow: Season 2 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Arrow: Season 2 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Jason Evans
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
February 7, 2019

I guess I am not too surprised that Blood turned out to be a bad guy. On this show, everyone is either a hero or a villain.

Noel Kirkpatrick
TV.com
February 7, 2019

Despite all the good thematic work, I did find "Crucible" to be a bit of a dull episode, especially after the compelling and exciting three episodes we've had before it.

Nick Setchfield
SFX Magazine
February 7, 2019

The reveal of Black Canary's identity has a genuine resonance, inspiring one of Stephen Amell's more emotionally engaging performances.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Edan Nissen
What Culture
February 7, 2019

This weeks episode returns to the slowish pace of the start of the second season and seemed to fail to capitalise on last week's episode.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
August 3, 2018

"Crucible" doesn't necessarily aim to top that peak [of last week's "Broken Dolls"], though it still manages to end up with a fairly effective story in its own right.

Mark Rozeman
Paste Magazine
August 2, 2018

Indeed, "The Crucible" is an hour of TV defined by its twists, turns and teases.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.4/10
Jill Pantozzi
The Mary Sue
August 2, 2018

A strong episode all around. It was great seeing Black Canary in full-on action mode while also getting a bit of her backstory.

Esther Inglis-Arkell
io9.com
August 2, 2018

I can't decide if the plot of this episode is flimsy, or if it just supports the emotional twists really well.

Jesse Schedeen
IGN Movies
August 1, 2018

The second season of Arrow continues to outdo the first, this week highlighted by a major team-up between Ollie and Black Canary that offered new insight into the show's history.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.6/10
Morgan Jeffery
Digital Spy
August 1, 2018

So while the Canary plot sings - pun intended, apologies unreserved - the remainder of this week's Arrow isn't quite as strong.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike Cecchini
Den of Geek
July 31, 2018

Nevertheless, it was still a terrifically entertaining and well-paced entry, and it's miles better than most of what we got in Season One.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dave Trumbore
Collider
July 31, 2018

[This] episode of Arrow dialed back a bit on the creepiness from last week's "Villain of the Week," but rewarded fans with not one but two character reveals.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Alasdair Wilkins
AV Club
Top Critic
July 30, 2018

When an episode as strong as "Crucible" represents your typical episode of Arrow, there remains plenty of room for optimism.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 1